We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserving of an award”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Deserving of an award”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent accommodations and service was provided to my wife and I on our recent stay. The room was exceptionally clean and the breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast. The staff was very helpful and there was even a lifeguard at the pool.
I would recommend this to anyone.
Thank you to the management and staff!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belcikd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    117
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
164
88
34
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My family had a great time at Comfort Inn at Shady Grove. The staff was very courteous and friendly and the facilities were very clean and well maintained. Since the hotel is within a mile of Metro Station, it made it very handy to get around DC without needing a car rental. Also, the hot breakfast was very good and they have fresh Dunkin Donuts from around the corner. The complimentary shuttle service to the Metro Station was very handy and saved us from having to take a taxi which would have cost $10 each way. I would highly recommend this hotel for all reasons listed above.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARRY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is an attractive, clean, friendly hotel within walking distance of the Shady Grove metro stop. We have stayed there several times and enjoyed the comfy, immaculate room, the cushy bedding, and the decent free breakfast. The staff is accommodating. There is clean, nice outdoor pool for the kids. The price is very good for the area. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindalee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, clean rooms. The out door pool has a life gaurd, and there's a good size "park" just for the guests (it was like a back yard). There is a shuttle, but I recommend having a car for that area. When I visit DC with the kids I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

During our 3 night stay we found this to be a friendly and well run hotel. Its set-back position can make it difficult to find being directly off a road junction (initially we drove passed it). Our room was of a really good standard and contained a microwave and fridge. The free breakfast was appreciated and free parking was available. We used this hotel as a base for exploring Washington DC and surrounding area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRU2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Comfort Inn at Shady Grove (Gaithersburg, MD) for the first time April 30 - May 2, for both a nearby medical visit and for a pleasure visit to downtown D.C. Staff all were excellent. Room was accomodating and comfortable. On Tuesday eve, they had an enjoyable welcome reception with a pleasant, knowledgeable hostess. For our "tourist" part of the visit, a shuttle was provided from the hotel to the nearby Metro station--which in our opinion is a far superior way to arrive downtown than searching there for parking these days, but be sure to have enough change for the Metro. Several good restaurant options also within a short drive-- we chose Growlers of Gaithersburg (delightfully active grill/pub). If we are able to visit the D.C.area again, this will be our hotel choice-- "see you next time!"

Green Features: We appreciated their posted practices and also the two signs warning about nesting birds in nearby trees.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

You read all of the excellent reviews from the past and my comments echo those. Grounds & rooms were clean, staff was friendly and breakfast was great. Not a great location for off site eating, but there are a few nearby within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceH334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
2.8 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#10 of 15 in Rockville
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Property: Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Address: 16216 Frederick Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing