We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific in every way”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Comfort Inn at Shady Grove is an affordable, but upscale hotel. From the complimentary morning breakfast to the classy lobby, everything at this hotel shouts its name "comfortable." The entire staff is wonderful from check-in, check-out, offering local directions, and places to eat, and an on-demand free shuttle. Any personal needs are taken care very efficiently of by simply by asking one of the very helpful staff members. The hotel is located near the Shady Grove metro which allows easy access to DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorTraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    116
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
161
86
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Good clean rooms and extremely friendly and helpful staff who helped with directions and any extra accomedndation for the room. The breakfast buffet is very filling with eggs, sausage, waffles, donuts, bagels, etc. The room I stayed in was spacious and very quiet. The subway is approximately 1 mile away. The hotel,provides a shuttle or it is an easy walk. Overall this is excellent value and I would stay at this hotel again.
More

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I got a rental car at Reagan airport, got on the George Washington Parkway to the 495 Beltway to 270. Took the Shady Grove Exit and this motel is right there at the exit, and believe me, there are few other hotels around there. The sign could be larger (sign is on Southeast corner of Frederick Road and Shady Grove Road). Look for a Dunkin Donuts. It is in a professional building across from an identical building that is the Comfort Inn. There was adequate, free parking, a good breakfast buffer, a good business office for printing boarding passes. A good Indian restaurant is 50 feet away, as is a convenience store and gas station. The rooms were clean and the staff were efficient and courteous and helpful. Have stayed here twice in 7 years and enjoyed it both times.

Room Tip: Would request side Away from Interstate.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are good. I liked them. See inset at right. They encourage you not to use the towels unless you really need them.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at, The Comfort Inn....and wanted to write to say what a great
experience it was! The service was amazing....everything was comfortable ...the staff went
way out of their way to ensure our stay was wonderful. We, also, like the location...as several
restaurants and shops were closeby --

Thank you, Comfort Inn...for making our stay so warm and welcoming!

Marie and family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was looking for a hotel near a metro station so to go to DC with the metro, not the car. Looking at all the other ones near a M station, prices were 250+$.

This one is walking distance from Shady Groove station (the end of the red line), is only 120$ avrg., and the hotel is great.

Plenty of restaurants around, delivery, and free shuttle to go to and come from the station.

You can still walk to the Metro, is about 1/2 mile, but the shuttle is there from 7am to 9pm, anytime you need it. Metro ride to Dupont Circle is about 25 minutes.

Breakfast is good, rooms are very pleasant, hotel is silent, cleaning staff does a great job, caring for the little details, like having the holder for the soap cleaned everyday.

So, if you want a fair priced hotel, with easy access to DC center, with places to eat around once the day is over, that's the natural choice.

Very please with it, I'm coming back here if I have a trip in the future to DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OilfieldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our experience was most wonderful, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the room comfortable and had most everything needed. They provided free transportation to the Metro, both ways. Would recomend this place to anyone wishing to visit DC or the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After getting stuck in a 7 mile backup in the Virginia Beach area and enduring severe thunderstorms and traffic in DC, this was indeed a COMFORT Inn. The staff, public areas, and room could not have been better. The amenities were wonderful. It was a perfect oasis after a long day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizlib_282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Property: Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Address: 16216 Frederick Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing