We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"A Jem"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"A Jem"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I almost hate to give this one away, but it would not be fair to keep to myself. They go above and beyand to make your stay outstanding. Also, they are very much on top of customer service. Yolanda at the front desk is the best. All of the staff associated with this place are friendly and happy to assist you. Breakfast is included and Free Shuttle to the nearest Metro at your call.

Room Tip: Check with the front desk for additional savings on local place to dine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjenk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    109
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
141
78
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I picked this hotel because it has a free shuttle to the Metro Shady Grove Station, and because of other good ratings. We were not sorry. The only negative a lack of parking in their lot. The service was friendly, the place was clean, and the breakfast was good. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidhebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boydton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our first stay but we will definitely stay here again when visiting Washington DC. Free shuttle to the Shady Grove Metro stop (although on a nice day would be a nice walk), friendly staff - very helpful, clean rooms with lovely linens and duvet, great pillows and lots of them, new carpeting and bottled water in the room every day! Breakfast was good. Close enough to a great variety of restaurants and grocery stores (Whole Foods!) With the in room fridge and microwave we were set. Easy access to I-270.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise as the hotel is quite close to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feltmakerkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have made numerous return stays to the Comfort Inn Shady Grove since my first visit, and I will continue to do so! The staff is very attentive and service is excellent. The rooms are very clean, too. One complaint I have is that since the rooms have doors on each side, you can hear into your neighbor's rooms. On my last visit, I had the misfortune of being placed near a middle school group who was very loud. Nevertheless, I think this is a great hotel at an even better price point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountaineer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was very impressed by this budget hotel. It's in a somewhat industrial area but as soon as you enter the lobby you can see that it's a cut above the rest. The small lobby area has been carefully designed and is both modern an very warm and welcoming. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. The room was spacioius and bright. There is an excellent Indian restaurant (Minerva) in a little strip mall adjacent to the hotel - the food was superb, the best Indian food I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise_craigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

NIce hotel. Room was clean and neat. Staff friendly and VERY helpful. Great breakfast. The shuttle driver was awesome! He took me to the Metro stop several times a day...always greeted me with a smile. I could not have asked for a nicer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel was very clean and orderly and efficiently run. I must have asked the staff a milllion questions and must have made a dozen requests and they were polite and helpful in all instances. Most impressive, when i was at the metro and called for their shuttle the manager showed up in is own personal vehicle because the shuttle was tied up on a long run. Unheard of service and he was jsut as nice as could be about it.

Room Tip: I reserves on line and things could not have been smoother. There were about a hundred sightseeing k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joec871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#9 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Property: Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Address: 16216 Frederick Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing