We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was very impressed by this budget hotel. It's in a somewhat industrial area but as soon as you enter the lobby you can see that it's a cut above the rest. The small lobby area has been carefully designed and is both modern an very warm and welcoming. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. The room was spacioius and bright. There is an excellent Indian restaurant (Minerva) in a little strip mall adjacent to the hotel - the food was superb, the best Indian food I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise_craigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    109
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
138
77
32
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

NIce hotel. Room was clean and neat. Staff friendly and VERY helpful. Great breakfast. The shuttle driver was awesome! He took me to the Metro stop several times a day...always greeted me with a smile. I could not have asked for a nicer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel was very clean and orderly and efficiently run. I must have asked the staff a milllion questions and must have made a dozen requests and they were polite and helpful in all instances. Most impressive, when i was at the metro and called for their shuttle the manager showed up in is own personal vehicle because the shuttle was tied up on a long run. Unheard of service and he was jsut as nice as could be about it.

Room Tip: I reserves on line and things could not have been smoother. There were about a hundred sightseeing k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joec871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livnim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel staff was very professional and helpful from the reception desk to the maid service, the dining room staff and every employee you come into contact with. The hotel is clean and always being clean, the rooms are clean well equipped and well laid out. It would be difficult to find faults here. I would and will recommend this Comfort Inn to my friends, family, and work associates with no reservations.

Room Tip: Clean hotel clean rooms helpful and friendly staff good breakfast included parking no problem it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Inn at Shady Grove because our daughter just had a baby. I called their local number and was helped over the phone by Yolanda Mendez who exceeded my expectations. She suggested a discount which was very helpful. I pleasantly found out that this Comfort Inn has amentities above and beyond what is normal for Comfort Inns. There was a live sprig of ivy in the bathroom! The breakfast was an array of almost anything you could think of...eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, bagels, english muffins, fresh donuts, cereal etc. Such a pleasant experience. We will definitely being picking this Comfort Inn in the future. I wish other Comfort Inns upheld the high standards that this establishment does.

Room Tip: If you are there because a relative is in the nearby hospital be sure to ask for the hospital discou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We always stay here and have never been disappointed. Rooms are nice, lots of breakfast choices free, close to metro to get into D.C. Best thing about this motel is the friendly service at the front desk. They have printed off maps for us, called the airport during a storm, and have made suggestions of where to shop or eat nearby. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desi81_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Island, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staff were friendly; room was very clean and comfortable; Tuesday evening Manager's Reception was very nice; with great hors d'oevres including both hot and cold, and some of it very healthy; free breakfast was excellent (good variety, good quality); wireless internet was fast (much appreciated -- I've been to hotels where wireless was painfully slow); free shuttle service to the Metro station and Montgomery Surgical Center (I was there for surgery), a couple good restaurants in the same large parking lot; both fridge and microwave in-room... the only thing I could find fault with was that once in awhile when showering, the water temperature would change, but not for long. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#8 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Property: Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing