We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hidden gem of Gaithersburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, PA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely hidden gem of Gaithersburg”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

From the outside, you might drive by this little hidden gem in Gaithersburg. The lobby is lovely, reminding one of opulent times in the 1930s- but one look at the "cascading water" color changing picture behind the check in desk will remind you you are in 2011.
The rooms have large, oversized mahongany furniture with deep burgandy newer rugs. Everything is spotless. The bathroom is large, clean, and has the old world charm of a live plant in a water garden and Q-tips and cotton balls (all in their own sanitized packages) in a lovely decorative box. Nice touches.
The staff is gracious and warm, and very helpful.
The next morning, the hot breakfast was excellent with choices such as eggs, sausage, fresh muffins, fruit, cereals, waffles, a variety of bread, donuts, and pastries that look like they came from a town bakery. Even the juices seemed fresh-NOT out of a machine like so many other hotels supply. We opted for the blueberry waffles and a chocolate chip muffin that was as large as my hand!
This hotel is also pet friendly. We saw very well behaved four footed guests in the lobby, but never heard a bark the whole night. Excellent well-kept hotel l!!!
We definitely WILL be back to this hidden gem in Gaithersburg, MD.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PADancergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    116
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
156
85
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Comfort Inn was all around wonderful. The staff was helpful and friendly. We had been advised not to stay in downtown Washington D.C, and to take the Metro to town. This hotel is only 1 mile from the station and had a free shuttle service that is just a phone call away. The rooms were very nice and well kept. The breakfast was hot and plentiful - even though there was a tour bus with 50 students who always seemed to hit breakfast when we did. We were provided with a list of nearby restaurants with directions and discounts for staying at the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davisdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owego, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This motel was a great experience: definite deal for the money. The room was clean and well-equipped. The beds and pillows were clean and comfortable. We did not use the in-room safe or the video games, but the a.c.. TV., iron and ironing board performed admirably. The refrigerator did seem warmer at the top, but placing anything very perishable at the bottom of the frig should keep it fresh.

The shower was easy to operate and control. The mounted makeup mirror was a welcome addition. However, ladies, the water is hard and the fluorescent lights in the bathroom bring out every vein, so compensate accordingly. The staff was generous with towels and toiletries. The one-cup coffee maker with disposable basket & coffee packs did make a fresher-tasting cup of coffee, and meant that hot tea made in the machine did NOT taste like coffee. However, the cups were small and the coffee may be a little weak for some drinkers.

The hotel was very pleasantly decorated. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We did not have time to try out the pool or the workout room. We were given a full breakfast with many choices: waffles, scrambled or boiled eggs, sausage, breakfast breads and pastries, cold cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, juices, milk, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, . . . The breakfast area was large, but the breakfast is popular, so try to avoid arriving at 8:30 (peak breakfast time). The tables could only comfortably seat 3, although we squeezed 5 around one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havcarwilgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I agree with MandOline. I don't understand how this hotel got such a high rating. My wife and I stayed there because of the #1 rating shown on TripAdvisor. I also refer to TripAdvisor when scouting new places to go and stay. This Comfort Inn is an okay hotel at best that is in dire need of a good maintenance program. We had to get a second room because the air conditioner didn't work in the first room we were assigned. The second room also had air conditioning problems along with drainage problems in the bathroom. Overall the rooms are somewhat run down. The TV's are old and the picture quality is not good. Since we had two different rooms, and the problems were similar in both rooms, I believe the rest of the rooms in the hotel would pretty much be the same.
There was no reason to believe that the other rooms were that much better or worse that the ones we were in.
On the plus side.....it's close to the Metro, the breakfast is decent and the staff seemed nice. Parking is free. I would not stay there again. We looked around at other holels in the area while we were there and found better hotels for around the same money.
PAST1

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAST1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We were guests the last week of June. The hotel was very clean and comfortable with excellent staff ready to assist in any way. The breakfast was nice with ample space to eat. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a gem for the price and amenities.

Room Tip: Contact hotel management if you have a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our familly just got back from a two day stay at this hotel. This hotel is very pleasant in appearance. The lobby and breakfast area are very nice,and our room was very clean. The staff are very professional and were eager to answer any questions.
The breakfast was good. I did not use the pool,but the grounds look well maintained.
Our family used the free shuttle to the Metro.It is also an easy to walk to the Metro.You can easily walk to a Dunkin Donuts,and a few family restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We were very pleased with the hotel and the price. It was very clean. Staff vas pleasant and helpful. We will use it again. Breakfast was good and included.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingPat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#9 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#11 of 15 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Property: Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Address: 16216 Frederick Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing