We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonefish Grill Quality at a reasonable price”
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
Ranked #6 of 339 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Germantown Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Bonefish Grill Quality at a reasonable price”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had our Valentine's dinner tonight on the 15th to avoid the crowds at Bonefish Grill. I called for a reservation for 5:15 since it was that time or 8:30. This place gets very crowded and I strongly suggest a reservation unless you want to wait a fair amount of time. We were seated right away and greeted by a very pleasant waitress. In fact all the employees in this restaurant are great. We ordered drinks and appetizers which were delivered in a timely manner. We had the coconut shrimp and scallops wrapped in bacon, both were superb. For dinner I ordered the special, Haddock with Garlic Mashed Potatoes and my wife ordered Fillet Mignon with asparagus. Both dishes came out very good, cooked perfect. The fish was just done, moist and flaked off with the fork, the garlic potatoes were a nice side for this dish. My wife's meat was cooked as asked for and it was a nice tender cut of meat. We both thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the excellent service.

The restaurant is holding up well, it is nicely kept and clean. As I said the staff, all of them, could not have been more professional and service oriented. Though a bit pricey it was worth the ticket for this meal and dining experience. Total for two appetizers, two main dishes, two glasses of wine and one after dinner drink was $99 for a total with tip of $120. We will be going back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D4379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    92
    30
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent fish, but noisy room”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I visited the Bonefish Grill in Gaithersburg on a Saturday night after receiving an American Express coupon. We had been to one many years ago and thought it was a very good chain restaurant for seafood. This location proved no exception. Although we had to wait nearly an hour, we were seated sooner than they estimated. We had a good glass of pinot noir in the bar while we waited, though. The tables were a little crowded in the restaurant and it was VERY NOISY. The food, though, was worth it. The bread was served with olive oil and dollop of pesto - very tasty. The fish was fresh and well-prepared. The garlic whipped potatoes were excellent, but the steamed asparagus was a little overdone. And the dessert - coconut pie - was only OK. The server was prompt and attentive. We would go back with the expectation that it would not be a quiet, romantic dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dag1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Delaware, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bonefish with family”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I lived in Brambleton, VA for many years and frequently went to the Broadlands restaurant for meals or just drinks. We always enjoy the food, drinks and service and that is consistent across all of the restaurants we have visited.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“An example for care and attention to customers”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were here New Years Day. Everyone was helpful and the manager was excellent. We had dietary needs. The gentleman manager listened and he actually seemed to care about our restrictions. He went to the kitchen manager and collaborated to get us something within our diet. He was extremely helpful and we couldn't have asked for better customer service concerning our limited pallet choices.
The food as well as the service were 5 stars. We were so impressed that we are going to become regulars at this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benhakim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

When you go to a chain restaurant, you sort of know what to expect. Bonefish Grill, does what they have to to get by. The fish is average. Hard to believe that it is actually fresh to table. Has a texture that has that been previously frozen feel. So, go with the expectation that it is not a gourmet seafood place and you should not be disappointed.Service is usually good. On this occasion, our waitperson seemed to have many tables and no one helped to relieve the load. So, we spent a lot of time waiting. Be aware that it can be very noisy on busy nights. e.g. weekends. Wines are a bit pricey too. $9 a glass for $9 a bottle retail wine. That is 5 times cost.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomWall60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing