We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse

Dogfish Head Alehouse
Ranked #2 of 320 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I always like this place, so do a lot of other people because it is always really crowded. Interesting beer selection, and the "bar food" is good. I've never considered ordering entrees here. Stick with the sandwiches, salads, appetizers and you can't go wrong.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    169
    42
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went on a Saturday afternoon for a late lunch, and this was the perfect place for a sandwich and a beer. Two of us tried their new grill cheese sandwiches (lots of different meats/veggies/cheeses), we had some wings and queso appetizers, and a kid's meal. Our plates were wiped clean! The beer was great too--such selection, but we felt rushed by our waitress to order our drinks. There's a lot to read on that beer menu!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jannrasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't go for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Dogfish Head is really about the beer selection including microbrews. Bees for a large crowd especially it when the weather is nice and you can sit outdoors. Good for going out with your coworkers to blow off some steam.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hamburgular Was Delish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

All kinds of different beers to try. They even have beer flights you can order. The hamburgular was very tasty! The spices in the burger were really good. The roast beef & cheddar was mouth watering. Good eats!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GatorGirl444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stopped in to try unique beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I didn't have dinner or anything here, but a colleague and I stopped in after dinner to try some unusual beers. The had a number of things I don't get at home in Chicago, even at a great craft beer bar. Sat at the bar, service was good, prices weren't unreasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asten77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing