We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More then just beer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse

Dogfish Head Alehouse
Ranked #2 of 334 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More then just beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

They have amazing beer selection and good food to pair. Good pizzas, amazing burgers...ask for the cajun dipping sauce! Wine drinkers and kids will find plenty to love here, too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank christii w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    188
    44
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great sports bar!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Dogfish has a great selection of craft beers. Many on tap to taste before you buy. They have great grouper and shrimp as well as chili. The Caesar salad was fresh and tasty. They have GOOD burgers that are all on special every Monday and our server was right on time with just the right amount of professionalism and speed of service. There are plenty of TVs around to watch that game or tournament you love to watch. For a great time with the guys or a nice casual date, you can't go wrong with Dogfish Head Alehouse.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great local pub feel and excellent food. Try the seasonal brews. Very good burgers and they do an excellent job with fish & chips.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rfitz511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You go for the beer but I go for the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I know this is a beer place and the people drinking beer at the restaurant seem to enjoy it. I am not a beer drinker. I go for the food. I give this restaurant high marks. They have a good food selection and I have always enjoyed what I ordered. This is a popular restaurant especially on the weekends so plan on waiting unless you call ahead. This is a fun, casual place that is loud but in a good way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best beer in DC and Maryland?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Dogfish Head Alehouse is a must if you like beer and like to experiment with new, often strong beers. They have the Dogfish Head 90 minute and 120 minute ales most of the time, plus a wide array of other beers. The food is good, especially the crab soup. Sandwiches are large with lots of great fries. And the place is just nice: it's lively but also family-friendly. Safe, attractive, and best of all, interesting. I wish it were closer to my house!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MackSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing