We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always consistently good food and value. Have been with friends and family. Can see why best rated place in Giathersburg area!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse

Dogfish Head Alehouse
Ranked #2 of 334 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Always consistently good food and value. Have been with friends and family. Can see why best rated place in Giathersburg area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Went with family on busy saturday night. Waited about 45 minutes but was worth it. Only time we every waited since we have been there 3 or 4 times. Food is always good. The burgers and pizza are great every time and so is crab dip and wings as appetizers. Portion are generous and service is great. Known for beers which are great but we go for food. Only thing is can be very loud downstairs when busy from bar scene. If with family ask for table upstairs or outside. We continue to go every few months because it is very good!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zachary2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    188
    44
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, OH
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good beer, good food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We sat in the bar because we wanted to watch baseball. The bartenders were very nice and helpful with our beer and food selections. The cream of crab soup was like nothing I have ever had before, so good. The food was tasty and I was very happy they were able to make my fish tacos with out being blackened. On Mondays all of the burgers are $2 off so my husband enjoyed a burger and fries. The prices seemed a little high on a few things and the only other thing is the alehouse closes at 11pm during the week.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JENNMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We go there pretty regularly because we live just down the block. The food is great, service is always top notch and the beer is delicious. If you go in the fall make sure you get their Pumpkin Ale. It's one of the best I've had.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level Contributor
192 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Enjoyable beer and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Dogfish beers are some of the best in the U.S., and the array available at this able house highlight the quality and diversity that is available. The beers are accompanied by a wide range of food that I'd call "American" - Burgers, interesting sandwiches, salads, etc. everything we had was quite good from the humus appetizer through the rest of the meal. Service was really friendly and good, and they really welcomed my 2 year old granddaughter and treated her very nicely. The only "complaint" is that most of the tables are upstairs and there is no elevator. One can get a table downstairs, but arrive early since reservations are not taken. Since I don't do stairs well, had we not gotten a table early )and we still had to wait 20 minutes) we would have had to leave. Perhaps some accommodation policy is needed for that would enable physically challenged people to call ahead to ensure a table on the first level. Noise level is moderately high, but one could hear others at the table without raising voices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, US
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Eat here all the time. One of the Best Reuben!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Love this restaurant. I work within walking distant and we eat here for lunch all the time. Its has one of my favorite dishes in the area: Reuben w/ Fries. Hits the spot. I also can recommend the Caesar Salad w/ Blackened Chicken (warning: must like garlic).

They are also a brewery and have an ample selection. The restaurant itself is nice and cozy (especially the downstairs) and on nice days the patio is great. You can also catch the game here on one of their many TVs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanRudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing