We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nouveau Pub Food + Great Beers and Ales”

Dogfish Head Alehouse
Ranked #2 of 339 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Whiting, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nouveau Pub Food + Great Beers and Ales”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I came here during a recent business trip to Gaithersburg. My wife enjoys dark beers and salads and sea food, and I love pale ales, burgers, and sea food. The only reason I gave this review a Very Good vs an Excellent was because of the noise level in the place. It is a lively and noisy place. Great for groups but not great for quiet conversations.

They have a small exterior seating area as well which, if it had been less hot, would have been a great place to eat.

Overall, good prices, very good food, great beer. Great for groups or casual conversation; not so great for a quiet conversation or business lunches.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    201
    45
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“our weekly restaurant”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We don't have many places that we go on a weekly basis. The beer is our favorite and the food is always high quality as well.

Helpful?
Thank L0V3totravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Gaithersburg.”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

When did I visit? I can't think of a week that I haven't visited! Great beers, some are a little odd (they'll happily provide a sample if you're unsure) but they always have something I really like. Burton Baton ale is my current favorite. Best bets on the menu in my opinion are the Chicago steak salad and the Mahi Mahi fish tacos. Service is fast and professional. Very popular, especially Friday evenings.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Burgers & beer!”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Loved the burgers! Friendly people, nice decor. They were able to accomdate our large party.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Topflitedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“friendly and fun”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I did NOT like the line to get in! But it did tell me that it was something I should do and we were glad we did. Staff made the visit fun, the food was better than expected and the little taste thing they do with beers ( like 6 of them?) was so much fun and such a good value I bought it and I don't even drink beer. I recommend going on an off night so it is quieter and less of a wait.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank Katya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing