We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Granville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

As we were going into D.C. every day, we did not take advantage of all the amenities this hotel has to offer. That being said the staff was the greatest and the room was astatically pleasing and comfortable. Our only frustration was finding a place to park on Friday and Saturday evening. The area is an entertainment and shopping mecca and the parking structure utilized by the motel was full when we returned from our outings. Thankfully the weather was pleasant for our much longer walks back to our room. If the weather had been bad so would have been my review :-)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

It is great to hear you took advantage of all your nice days and headed into the city. We understand parking is not the easiest on a busy weekend, however to keep parking complementary for all our guests we choose to share with the shopping center! We appreciate your patience and can not wait for your return- no matter the weather!

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    118
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
86
38
21
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great place to stay! Very friendly staff. Miriam at the front desk is terrific! She is always pleasant and happy to help with food or travel recommendations. Entire hotel is clean from room to pool. Breakfast was great. Family friendly but business travelers too.

Room Tip: The pull out sofa is perfect for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank someweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Mariam was thrilled to hear you appreciated her recommendations! We are glad you found every aspect of your stay, from our associates to our cleanliness, to be an outstanding experience. We will be happy to have you back again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Warmest Regards,

Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice and clean and functional in terms of layout location etc. what is outstanding us the staff. Very friendly and accommodating in every aspect of my stays here. If you are in the area I recommend this hotel..................

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. We pride ourselves on consistency in excellence and that extends to the people who run the show here! We look forward to your return.

Warmest Regards,

Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The front desk and cleaning staff were very friendly and inviting. Every question and need I had was met with a professional attitude and a smile. I love the location, it has everything you need if you don't feel like travelling far to eat or shop. I would have given this an "Excellent" rating if not for the lumpy bed. The bed was also slanted so that the head was lower than the foot of the bed. That needs to be fixed.
I recommend this hotel and more than likely I will still stay at this hotel again, despite the bed, because it is clean, comfortable, and just over all a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: My room was facing the lake. It was so pretty and wonderful to lay in bed and watch the snow fall or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dru707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad you found our staff particularly friendly and informative. For your future stays, please consider contacting our Front Desk when you find something not to be to your liking and we will be happy to provide you with some options. Once again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you here soon.

Warmest Regards,
Courtyard Gaithersburg Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had stayed here few years ago and always liked the location. This time I had a terrible night.
To be clear; I stay at hotels 3 nights each week for my job. So when I say they have the noisiest and the most annoying AC system I had enough bad experiences to compare!
You don't have any control over the AC. You can not turn it down, you can not stop the cold air, nothing!
We did every trick to just make the AC quiet for few minutes.If you set it on 72 it blows warm air to 72 and it may go up to 72.5. Now it starts to blow cold air to bring it down. Again it would probably go to 71.5 and it continues. It constantly switches heating and cooling and makes LOUD noises. Finally at 3:00 am we called the front desk and somebody came and unplugged the whole system and it was 25 degree outside !!!
In summary, we didn't sleep and we had a long drive ahead of us the next day.
During check out, I told the lady that we had a terrible night and she said she is sorry!! And since we prepaid our stay (via Marriott.com, not a discounted website!!) she can not adjust the rate, but she will add lots of points to my account (oh yes, I do have status with Marriott). Guess what? They didn't add the points either!

The bathroom was terrible, too. The vent didn't work and it was near impossible to change the water to shower. You need to use both hands, arms, feet....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palmimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah k, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are very sorry to hear about your most recent stay at our hotel and the challenges you experienced with our heating and cooling unit. The units are designed to cycle on and off until the optimal temperature is reached. In addition, there is a built in feature to the unit in which when the outside temperature is below a certain temperature, it cycles on and off to help prevent the internal pipes from freezing. In any event, we regret that the equipment kept you from getting a good night's sleep. We would like to not only follow up on your Marriott Rewards account so that we can confirm that the award points have been posted, but we would also like to invite you back, at your convenience and on us, to get a good night's rest (maybe when the weather turns warmer and you can enjoy one of our rooms facing the lake at Washingtonian Center. Most guests really enjoy the view and our location.
Again, please accept our apologies that your stay was not perfect. We value your business very much and take customer service very serious. Please feel free to contact me at sarah.kimani@marriott.com with your Marriott Rewards account number so that we may do an audit immediately and get you the points you were promised.
Many thanks!
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I love the staff at this hotel (Kathleen, Jeremy, Mariam, and "The Artist" (Sorry can't think of her name now), Carmen at the bar as well as the night staff Alex are the most customer friendly staff I have had the opportunity to meet in all my stays while working as a traveling consultant. Their attention to detail and always welcoming presence makes this place truly feel like a home away from home. The hotel is perfectly located around many wonderful attractions from shopping to dining to sightseeing. The rooms are always very clean and the housekeeping staff are extremely hospitable. I have stayed at many hotels in the Maryland area and week after week I choose to stay at Courtyard Washingtonian because it such an awesome place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled you find our associates hospitality to be exceptional; "The Artist" you mentioned is Candyse! We always strive for consistency in our excellent services and you are an affirmation of that. Thank you so much for your review, we sincerely appreciate your loyalty.

Warmest Regards,

Courtyard Gaithersburg Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Clean, nice rooms. Ask for a room overlooking the water. There are tons of restaurants, shops, and a movie theater in easy walking distance. HIghly recommend this hotel. Free parking. Best part is the location so close to Rio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elexaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We value ourselves on cleanliness and are very happy to see you appreciated it! We are ecstatic to see you found our location convenient- from the AMC Loews Theatre to the delectable restaurant choices, we are confidant everyone will have an enjoyable time! We are confident we will be seeing you again soon. Thank you kindly.

Warmest Regards,

Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.3 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Property: Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#7 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing