We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location-bad towels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was very nice and it was a great location on a little lake with a boardwalk and lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. But... and there is no excuse for this... the towels were small and scratchy. It seems like a little thing but I want large soft fluffy towels when I go to a hotel on vacation. It also annoys me that Courtyard does not include breakfast in their basic room package. I won't go back there again. There are other hotels nearby to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are sorry to hear you found our towels less than satisfactory. We invite you to come back again and we would be happy to go the extra mile for you to get you more preferable towels.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

A typical Courtyard, good for pleasure or business travel. We were in room 322 overlooking the water but without a balcony. The room was clean and comfortable but a tad small. The location is great with shopping and many restaurants, all right out the door. Parking was convenient, across the street in a parking garage. Staff were friendly and check-in was easy.

Room Tip: Water view is the best otherwise you look at the parking garage.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wctrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to see you enjoyed the view from your room. The man made lake attracts a lot of beautiful wild life that gives your stay a serene appeal. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just spent 3 nights (Friday-Monday) here while traveling for business. The hotel is located conveniently in Washingtonian Center. Garage parking is free and right next door. Once your car is parked, you'll have no need for it as the location of the hotel is central to many restaurants and shops all within walking distance around the lovely "Rio" area. The area is always busy and I felt very safe to walk around. The hotel is only a short drive away from the main area of Rockville, so this hotel is also convenient if you are traveling there for business.

The front desk staff was especially friendly, which was appreciated. The rooms are of standard Marriott quality and are adequately spacious and well kept. My room had a lovely view of the lake however noise from the boardwalk area was noticeable on all three nights until at least 11:30. Upper floors would likely solve that problem. The pool/fitness area was small but more than sufficient to meet my needs.

Breakfast is not included in the room rate and is $13 for the buffet or a la carte items of your choosing. Starbucks is across the street and the Corner Bakery is a few blocks up, and I preferred those options for breakfast.

Room Tip: To avoid noise from the boardwalk, ask for a room on an upper floor. The views overlooking the lake...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30_by_thirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your post. You're post is greatly appreciated. We like to be the balance of work and play. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you back as or guest soon.

Warmest Regards,

The Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel sits in the center of Washingtonian Center and provides plenty of things to do in the area by walking. And if you need to go to Washington DC, it's a short drive or bus ride (Route 74 or 54) to the Shady Grove Metro station ($5 daily parking) on the red line.

With a child we stayed in a 8th floor one-bedroom suite, which is very large and equipped with fridge and microwave. And it's not expensive at all on weekends.

One negative: due to proximity to a grill resaurant, the room has a some smell of grill smoke from time to time. I think the hotel should look at their air filtration or air circulation. It was not a problem to us, however.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlesdwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the one-bedroom suite; it is perfectly equipped for a multi person weekend stay! We are glad you took advantage of our proximity to the Shady Grove Metro Station to head into Washington D.C. We anticipate you and your families next arrival to be just as enjoyable as the last!

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Everytime I visit the Gaithersburg md area I stay at court yard marriot at washingtonion center. I absolutly love it. Its very nice super clean with spacious comfortable, and quite rooms. The staff is awesome! They are always very cheerful, happy, and helpful. Especially the ladies at the front desk. Their warm and inviting personalities makes my stay even more enjoyable.
The hotel is in an amazing location with a beautiful landscape, right on the boardwalk overlooking the lake. Which house fish, geese, and ducks. It is also open to paddle boats or a casual trial walk around the perimeter. Close to many restaurants, shopping possibilities, and entertainment. Definitely worth the trip, but more importantly worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mischelle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreicate our guest just as much as the staff. We look forward to seeing again soon. Thank you for staying with us.


Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A month or so we did small sleepover for my teenager at this hotel because of the proximity to the movie theaters a lot of restaurants,and a lot of clothing shops. The gilrs had a great time and the service was amaazing.
A month later (6/14) my two best friends from high school and I wanted to have a mini get away and chose to stay at the courtyard. Everything was perfect. Parking is easy, the men and ladies at the front desk seem truley happy to help and while always wearing a smile.
We spent most of the time walking around the shops and eating (too many restaurants to choose from). The short amount of time we spent in our room was great. It was clean, quiet, and had all of the necessary ammenities. The day of check out, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet and just relaxing on the deck off of the seocnd floor. There are chairs, couches and tables there for another place to spread out wit a beautiful view of thew lake.

Room Tip: a lake view is nice and prevents you from looking in the parking garage, butyou probably aren't...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olney_MarylandLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you chose us to host your reunion with your friends. We are glad you took advantage of our Breakfast Buffet; it's the best way to start your morning. Thank you so much for choosing Gaithersburg Courtyard, yet again. We appreciate your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

After a mix-up with reservations (4 people in room with a King bed) at the Washingtonian Center Marriott, we changed to the Courtyard in the same area (the day before our arrival date). We visit this area twice a year for shopping and dining and have stayed in various hotels. Hotel location is great! Rooms are clean and spacious! We requested a lake front room and our request was met. Front desk personnel are very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay there from now on. If you make reservations with Marriott on line or through their 800 number, be sure to call to confirm that your accommodation request was met. If I hadn't, there would have been 4 of us sharing a King bed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sas12715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, General Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I was happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your request. I appreciate your kind comments about our associates. They are our greatest asset and I am happy to hear that they gave you and your family great service. I'll look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Gaithersburg!

Ossi Tuominen
General Manager
Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center Courtyard Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Pl, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-7343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#7 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range: $90 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Café is our on-site eatery featuring morning favorites including, cooked-to-order eggs and a bountiful amount of a la carte items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Courtyard
Gaithersburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing