We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay agin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Would stay agin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a decent hotel with very attenative staff und clean and comfortable rooms. The many restaurants, shops and the cinema centre make it easy to spend time out or find a place to eat. the nice lake in front give it a nice appearance.
Better come by car, since public transport is very limited in the area.
We stayed at the inauguration weekend which made the rooms very expensive. But otherwise I would say this is good value for money and I can definitely recommend it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany Y, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you experienced the many shops and restaurants while you were here. Yes, public transportation is limited in the area but we can always recommend traveling arrangements next time you’re in the Gaithersburg area. We look forward to seeing you back with us soon. Thank you for posting your review.

Warm Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    121
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
87
40
21
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Completely different from you standard Courtyard, which I view as a good thing. More modern and stylish.

The good: very attentive desk staff, spotless room. Good location with lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance.

The not so good: parking can be a bit of a hassle, but it's complementary. Lobby is small.

The net: I'd stay here again, but there are several other Marriott properties close by. Usually I stay at the Springhill Suites to save a few bucks (+ free breakfast.)

Room Tip: Apparently the lake view rooms are more desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKHuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

They do not have central ventilation meaning that your room is outfitted with a very noisy and clanky room "radiator." It was constantly adjusting the temperature in the room as it was a very cold night. If I elected to "keep the fan on" I was still bothered by the noise of the fan and blower. Both were very very loud and did not provide for a restful nights sleep. With the last remodel, Marriott should have invested a bit more to provide most of their guests what they are looking for: a comfortable, quiet night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megancara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge
Level Contributor
136 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff is very fast to greet you when you come in the door. I had a very nice room over looking the water (better than other buildings I guess). There are shops, restaurants and a movie theatre all right down starts.

The parking is across the street but they let you park out front when you are checking in so you don't have to lug your stuff. The pool was very nice.

The rooms were clean and average size. The only real issue was the air conditioner which was LOUD. Yes I had to use the air conditioner in November because the room was rather stuffy. Beyond that it was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahbaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a great time here.. We brought our kids and a few of their friend and rented the suit. The kids parents had some other rooms and we had a great time. The staff was very nice and polite. I thought the garage to park in across the street might have been a problem, but it is fine. Very nice stay with a TON of stuff to do around it. Places around the hotel are quick expensive thou. Overall cool stay!! would do it again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank man1et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stay here at least 3 times per year. What is really nice is it is relatively noise free and several places are within walking distance. Food, shopping, you name it. Price is in line with the area and the staff is friendly and attentive. They serve a full breakfast and it is top of the line. I always stay on the second floor, close to everything such as laundry, bar, breakfast and easy to come and go.

Room Tip: Take the second floor, ask for rooms near the laundry, no one ever walks down to this end so it is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrance61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is tucked right on the lake and in the midst of a great eating and shopping area. It is in Gaithersburg and an easy drive into Washington D.C. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Food choices are delightful in the immediate area so no need to get in the car and go some where. The hotel was full, but quiet - a nice surprise. Would stay here again when visiting with family in the area.

Room Tip: High floors on the lakeside provide nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wairRwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.3 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Property: Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Address: 204 Boardwalk Pl, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-7343
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#7 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing