We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Terrific Marriott”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This may be one of the best Marriott's I have experienced (and I make 40-50 business trips annually). Consistently friendly and helpful staff. Property is sparking; standard room was spacious and well appointed. Flat screen TV, in-room coffee, good working desk. The restaurant is better than average for a hotel, and service was great. Room service (used this twice) was equally good; breakfast arrived exactly at the requested time. My only small complaint: the fitness room (again, very well appointed) is off the main lobby, not on second floor as the in-room materials state. There is also a pool available; some construction was in progress on that floor but the pool looked to be open. Free parking on an adjacent, surface-level lot. (Be sure to have an ice scraper if there during cold months.) There are also a number of nearby restaurants, bars, retail and one movie theater.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room if available, as the hotel sits on a small man-made lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    142
    34
    16
    6
See reviews for
96
52
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here with swim teammates for a weekend long meet. The location is perfect for a group of kids and parents. Plenty to do just steps away. Shopping, movies, plenty of places to dine and Starbucks for coffee. Just park in the large lot across the street and you are set. Interior and rooms were standard fare. Our fridge smelled awful! The ATM was broken. Elevators were slow and overcrowded. We did enjoy our balcony room overlooking the lake. Breakfast was fine. Gym and pool are postage stamp sized but clean and pool had a lifeguard.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDMOMLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Excellent Courtyard Hotel compared to other Courtyard's. Very conveniently located in the Washingtonian Center of Gaithersburg. Literally right next to array of restaurants, movie theatre, shops and adjacent to a pond. Parking garage.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GL726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I have a three night stay here for a business trip. The room itself was classic Courtyard. The rooms are in exceptional shape. I don't remember seeing any visible flaws with either cleanliness or room age. The restaurant is on the second floor rather than in the lobby area. I was unaware of this at first and the 6:30am breakfast start time I did find a little late. The breakfast buffet seemed a little smaller than most, but they did have a chef who was making eggs and omelets to order.

The hotel also had a happy hour that I did not attend each day. The lobby area is small and the market area is small as well.

The hotel is in the middle of a upscale shopping area which made it initially difficult to find. Parking is across the street in a parking garage. However, there are several restaurants/things to do within walking distance.

Starbucks across the street, California Pizza Kitchen across from hotel, Cooper Canyon ( upscale american ), Mexican place, Joes Crab House, Lowes Cinemas. There is also a sandwich shop and plenty of ice cream near by, and then some retail, some higher end stuff, and Kohls, Dick Sporting Goods, and Target are all within a 5 minute walk. A CVS or Rite Aid would have been nice, but Target does carry most of that kind of stuff.

There is also a nice boardwalk on the backside of the hotel/shopping that provides a good place to just get out. It was nice not to be in some industrial park, and yet the shopping is not so much that it really is an inconvenience if you want quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have stayed here several times while visiting the area and we have always had a great experience. Nice, clean hotel which is conveniently located. Hotel onlt offers breakfast but there are many good affordable restaurants in walking distance so that is not a problem. Very nice location for a couples getaway or even a family trip. The metro is a short drive way for those who want to venture into the DC area.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the lakeside, nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyasgrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a fairly new Courtyard Marriott located at the Washingtonian Center. The hotel staff was very friendly and we checked in without any problems. The room was pristine and very comfortable. The room faced the adjoining lake, which provided a nice view. The area around the hotel kept us entertained for the time we were there. There are shops and restaurants all around the hotel, including a movie theater....all within walking distance. There is a trail that goes around the aforementioned lake, which provides a nice, scenic walk. This hotel is also convenient if you’re travelling to Washington DC, as the closest Metro stop is only one exit away on 270. Very nice hotel in a very nice area. Would definitely stay here again as the rooms are clean and comfortable and there’s plenty to do in the area. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Lake front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevermore52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is in an outdoor mall, in walking distance to restaurants and shops making it a convenient location for those who choose to eat outside of the hotel.

The room and public areas were immaculate. The WiFi worked well. The bathroom was small, but adequate. There were more than enough lighting and electric outlets and the room included a couch and large desk. We had a pretty view of the lake, including swans.

I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lemnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Property: Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Address: 204 Boardwalk Pl, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-7343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#7 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Café is our on-site eatery featuring morning favorites including, cooked-to-order eggs and a bountiful amount of a la carte items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Courtyard
Gaithersburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing