We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Ichiban

Ichiban
Ranked #201 of 336 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great food, nice ambiance and reasonable price.
We really enjoyed it. And defiantly come again.
Recommended

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AleXfendeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Nice Find.....”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Strolled on in here on a very cold day for lunch. I was seated by myself as I'm staying down the road at the Holiday Inn. Knew nothing in advance of the restaurant so this was a surprise. Food is advertised as "Korean and Japanese" cuisine, although I think the owners and staff are Korean. Walked in and was greeted nicely and seated. I went for the lunch buffet which included a nice spread of Miso soup, different California rolls and sushi, stir fried chicken, soba noodles, and Korean Kimche and other salads. I didn't see any Korean BBQ so maybe I missed this or they didn't offer for lunch.

I tried the Miso soup, excellent. Had the California rolls, very good and finally had the sweet and sour chicken and teriyaki chicken again great.

The meal cost me about $12.95 and that was with a Soda. A nice find and would recommend this restaurant for lunch and/or dinner. Also seemed great for families!

**Only given 4 stars because I have to reserve my 5 stars for those absolutely amazing restaurants and/or experiences.......so don't let ranking mislead you, still a great find.*****

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotterswannebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff / Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have been going here for the past 15 years and I have never been disappointed. They staff is friendly and the food is great. I lean towards the Korean dishes, particularly the Hwae Dup Bap and Bulgogi (this is Korean BBQ), but their Sushi is also very good. If you want to do BBQ, be sure to get a table with the built in grill.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crphilipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
“great sushi”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

didn't visit this time, but always outstanding in past. Great Sashimi, tonkatsu. Wish they would deliver as I stay at nearby Holiday Inn.
Need to try the Korean next time

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarmelaPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Excellent service, very good food. We stopped there by chance and were very pleased with the amount and quality of the food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adriana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban also viewed

Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 

Been to Ichiban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing