We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Steaks and Ribs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bugaboo Creek Steak House - CLOSED

Bugaboo Creek Steak House
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks and Ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My business associate and I met here for dinner and were pleasantly surprised. The ribs were outstanding and my steak was superb. Just the right amount of seasoning. It was not crowded the night we went, and the waiter was very attentive. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank-Staunton-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    35
    17
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester
Level Contributor
312 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Not a bad place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

First looked at Jj Muldoons because it was close to my hotel, but that didn't look appetizing. Short drive to Bugaboo was a good idea. Nice place, but not very busy. Ate at the bar, and found the bartender had a few too many tables. She did her best, and did pretty well. My drink was good - after I sent it back once. Prime rib sandwich was very good, and the fries had a good flavor.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place to dine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have eaten here several times, once celebrating a grandchild's birthday at her request! This time we were here for lunch. Moxie the Moose greets you with his moose voice and gives the children a fun place to remember. The theme is rustic with a large wood burning fireplace that sets a lovely cozy atmosphere in winter. The steaks are delicious as is everything on the menu and the desserts are yummy. This is a good place to dine either with family, friends or a romantic dinner for two.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

WE got into town late and wanted a light meal. ?We went to Bugaboo Creek and I had the macaroni and cheese large side, which was definitely meal sized. It was delicious. My friend had the loaded baked potato and the chicken fingers and liked them both. We had the bananas foster for dessert and that was a disappointment. I would skip that. Service was very attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cricket808285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, US
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Eh. It has potential.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The atmosphere makes you want to love the place. But the Service is poor, the food is poor and there is really nothing that stands out.

I live in the area and ate here a few years back (and several times before) and we haven't been back since. We were put off by the poor service/food we received that night.

But on the other hand, I would recommend the place if you have young kids. The place is fun, I'll give it that.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanRudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bugaboo Creek Steak House also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing