We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a reasonable price”

Growler's of Gaithersburg
Ranked #10 of 335 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: J.A. Belt building is considered the oldest commercial property in Gaithersburg. The building has recently undergone a complete historic restoration and is listed on the National Historic Registry. The marriage of the old and new in this historic building creates a unique environment well suited for the reproduction of our turn of the century tavern. Hand-crafted beers and an excellent American menu keeps them coming back!
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten at the restaurant several times and I really enjoy their Cobb salad--it's a nice balance of veggies and meat. Service has been good although the restaurant is a bit noisy.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    65
    28
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Food was much better than I was expecting -- thought it would be typical bar food. Love the location in Old Town. Went on a Saturday night for dinner and it was quieter than I expected. Free parking behind the restaurant or in the parking garage down the street.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go for the beer but enjoy the food”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a favorite of ours which we've been going to on and off for several years now. The best reason to go is for the beer selection. The food menu is good, but over the years has become much less formal. It's good bar-food, the service is always excellent, and it's a great place to hang out with friends.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveSense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home brewed beer”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good bar food, and great selection of beers.
Live music, trivia and comedy on different nights.
Lovely, efficient servers top off the pleasant experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 73Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great beer and fried pickles”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I don't know Gaithersburg from a hole in the wall but this bar/saloon/restaurant to which I was taken on a fairly calm Tuesday evening was as one might have expected. The food was primarily bar-food, fried and tasty. The beer was very, very good and unusual. The waitress was wonderful in bringing samples for us to taste before making our selections. And yes, the fried pickles (slices, not wedges) were great. All-in-all as good a choice as any from my vantage point.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Growler's of Gaithersburg also viewed

Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 

Been to Growler's of Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing