We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
Review of Tara Thai

Tara Thai
Ranked #62 of 335 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stopped here hungry for Thai. The food was great. The service was not-so-great. We waited a long time to get a table after the weather outside turned sour, and were passed up by a few customers that came after us. Once served, however, we enjoyed the food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good green curry with beef”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been multiple times to this place and need to say that the food is very good.
One thing to advice, if you are going for appetisers and entrees, never order together, all will be served at once. I never got used to this, certainly because I am used to take time to dine and savour.
But if know, and ordering in series, very good and enjoyable and still fast enough.

Helpful?
Thank Sjocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spurge with coworkers”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good food and service. My coworkers and I would occasionally go for lunch if we were celebrating a birthday or wanted to splurge. There was something for everyone on the menu.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMLGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice duck with red curry”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Quite a nice Thai. The duck was very good.
Found the choice little limited compared to other Thai I visited in the world.

Helpful?
Thank Sjocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dependable Thai”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were out on a date while waiting to pick up our daughter from the movies at Rio. We'd been to Tara Thai before and felt comfortable giving them another visit, and both had the dependable Pad Thai. The service was brisk, with the staff doing a good job of managing a pretty full house. They've never let us down and there's always something new to try on the memu (I had the fish cakes as an appetizer, which were a delightful new experience). Two thumbs up...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3kids3kats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Thai also viewed

Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 

Been to Tara Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing