We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza and Calzones”
Review of Zio's Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zio's Italian Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Alton, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pizza and Calzones”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Been going to this place off and on for 20+ years and was there earlier this week. They make very unique calzones and use a chunky fresh red sauce for the pizzas. Both of the aforementioned make finding this place worthwhile. Have taken many people there who become repeat customers.

Not as crowded as it use to be (I presume) due to the Shady Grove area building up quite a bit over the years and now there are many other dining options.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Billaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Italian Food”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I been going to this restaurant for a long time and love the chunky tomato sauce in their pizza; the ingredients on their dishes are very well season,fresh and tasty.The service is always good and friendly. This restaurant is mostly for the local people and they don't advertise too much but if you are in the Gaithersburg area I would recommend you to stop by and give it a try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaytavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood place”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I am pretty critical of Italian food since I grew up in a Southern Italian family. Zio's is what my family would call an American-Italian restaurant...meaning, they serve and cater to American's idea of what Italian food is. There is nothing here that is unique... you will find pizza, mundane types of pasta like baked ziti, etc. and a limited number of meat dishes. Not to say the food was not good... it was, but not something that you wouldn't find in a 100 other places. Salad was fresh and served cold as it should be... service was pleasant and friendly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drlynnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average visit”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Perhaps it was our visit, but Zio's was average, not much better. Located in an outdoor strip mall I would say this is a casual place. The decor is mundane. We did not have pizza which previous reviewers seemed to very much enjoy. The garden salads were fresh and fine. I had the eggplant parmesan, medium sliced eggplant, with breading that was not particularly flavorful, the side pasta was adequate with very good tomato sauce. Another diner had veal parmesan and commented the veal was dry, overdone. The third person in our party had the chicken marsala and reported that it was somewhat plain and lacking enough wine in it's flavor. Service was adequate. So for us, an ok visit, nothing outstanding.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tranquility2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Pizza”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have never eaten in the restaurant but been ordering their pizza for take out for over 15 years. In my opinion they make the best pizza in the area (by far). Maybe the best tomato sauce on a pizza I've had anywhere.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarmaToBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zio's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing