We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic margarita's and great vibe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guapos Cantina

Guapos Cantina
Ranked #9 of 327 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic margarita's and great vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I ate here twice on my own as I was travelling for business. I didn't feel uncomfortable at all as the place is relaxed and festive. The margarita's were excellent (which may have added to my feeling comfortable!). The salsa and corn chips, provided free with a drink, are enough to fill you. The portions are large; the nacho's appetizer is enough for a meal. The food quality was good and reasonably priced. The restaurant is situated on the lake so try to get seating outdoors in the daytime but the bar is great fun at night. I really enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    63
    29
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good food but LOUD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Many other restaurants in this shopping center have closed, but this place is going strong. The food is excellent, prices are reasonable for a big Mexican restaurant, and the portions are the usual huge plates (very hot, ma'am!) One meal lasted me two nights-the to-go box is a useful option.
If you are going for conversation, forget it. The whole place is loud and you can't shout above the crowd. If you go with people you know and can lipread, you're all set.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant at Rios”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Don't know where to start. Excellent food, loud music, good bar to hang out at while waiting for your table. Not very expensive. This is my wife and my favorite place to go to.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rajan613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D. C.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Busy for a Reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Superb chips & salsa, fair prices, next to multiple-screen cinema, friendly staff, 70% Mexican clientele for a reason, nice portions, seems like everybody but us celebrating a birthday, festive, mostly chairs but a few booths...we enjoyed it, will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nocostcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loud music during playoff game!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to watch playoff game, ordered beers then manager turned on juke box and drowned out football game. We left after our first beers. We planned to watch entire game and eat dinner there. What a disappointment!!! Their loss of business!!!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapos Cantina also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Guapos Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing