We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“need a Nap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flaming Pit - CLOSED

Flaming Pit
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“need a Nap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

It is always nice to return to our former neighborhood and to dine at flaming Pit which over the years has produced many memories. Mostly known for its prime rib, it has many other dishes On our most recent visit we came for lunch with our family. It is always a pleasure to be greeted by the owner Armen Mardirossian who seats the customers and this time we were waited on by the very lovely and friendly Mary. She was very patient and helpful in the ordering process. do try the mussels for appetizer; they are very fresh tasting. salad and crusty bread come with the meal.
Portions of the main entrees are huge and the nice thing about that is the possiblities of doggie bags and food to enjoy the next day. Prime rib was a tad dry; perhaps because we had requested medium well but it tasted juicier the next day interestingly. Desserts are good but not outstanding and the coffee is a bit weak. Always a great experience and a place we look forward to returning to time and time again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MountaineerLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old folks home”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you like bland food, fish that you can tell it has been frozen and no imagination from the cooks, this could be the place for you. Service was slow, room was dark. I did like the large fireplace, and they do have a nice patio, yet the eastern european service leaves something to be desired, and the bland overcooked food is remeniscent of a retirement home.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank deb2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner here. We went early on a Sunday and enjoyed the chateaubriand for 2. It was one of the most tender steaks I have ever had. The veggies were great that came with the meal and the crab bisque was awesome. The place is a little dated and I laughed at how each piece of silverware was different at our table. I had the only 3 prong fork I could see at any table. No big deal at all, just funnny. The quality of the meal made up for any cutlery shortcoming. The waitress was great. We will defenitely go back and would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good old reliable Flaming Pit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

So the good news is, the Flaming Pit is just the same as it has always been. The bad news is the Flaming Pit is the same as it has always been. So here's the good part. No where could be friendlier - from the folks outside bidding you to help yourself from the vegetable garden in the front of the restaurat to the warm greeting from the host and wait staff. Service is great. Food arrives as ordered in good time - not too rushed, not too slow. The stuffed mushroom caps were just okay, nothing to write home about, but both the crab soup and crab bisque had a nice bite and were stuffed with crab and veggies. The stuffed flounder was fine as were the lamb chops. The ceasar salad was drowned in dressing, but the veggies with each entree were nice and crisp. We were too full for dessert, but the chocolate mousse and cake with fruit on top looked good despite the canned whip cream added just before serving. However, the menu does not seem to have changed in the 30 years we have been going to this restaurant. The rug looks like the original and is badly in need of cleaning. The average age of most customers seems to be about 75. Flaming Pit needs to do some sprucing up of both the menu and the decor in order to attract a younger crowd. Some additional lighting would help as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsphud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“top menu as long as the top Chef is on duty.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The meat was not tops to me and the place is beat down a little. The vegatables and service and all in all was top line.

Helpful?
Thank rroberts777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaming Pit also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing