We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buca is a fun place to go with friends and families”
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
Ranked #83 of 339 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Great Seneca Highway
Transit: Ride On Bus - Kentlands Blvd Stop
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Buca is a fun place to go with friends and families”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Buca is a family style restaurant that serves food that feeds 2-3 people for their small dishes. The food is always good and tastes fresh. They have a very nice selection for food choices. The 2 of us usally order a small apple and gorgonza salad and a small pasta dish and we always have leftovers to take home. I recommend making a reservation for the Pope room if you go with a large crowd. The pope's head as the centerpiece makes for fun conversation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    36
    34
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very large Italian restaurant, would be great for a big group.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I ate lunch with a friend. They have a special lunch menu as well as the regular one. The bar was empty at lunchtime but looks like it would be a good place to wait at dinner time when it is crowded. The decor is definitely Italian. It was fun to look around at the various pictures of famous Italian singers, actors, artIsts, etc.

The waiter was very good and came to check on us a couple of times without being intrusive.

My salad was good but not exceptional. My friend had soup and salad which was just the right size for lunch. I would recommend this restaurant, especially for a group.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sisflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This is a chain of Italian eateries, but it didn't feel like a chain”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

While attending some training in the area, had dinner here with an ex-colleague who now lives there. Food and wine were fine, and one of the "hooks" of this chain is you order food quasi-family style. So, that means you order enough food for 2-4, 4-6, etc. The three of us eash ordered a dinner, so we had way too much food. Sat in a booth, was well attended-to by our waiter, and was a night well spent.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNmilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hearty = Heavy”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Good food, just a bit heavy for me. The family dining idea (ordering dishes for the whole table -v- individual entress) is cool, but I think it leads to over-ordering based on what I saw on my table and at other tables. And once delicious, salty, buttery, cheesy food is in front of us, we tend to eat, eat, eat and then lapse into an "I'm so full" couch coma once home. A moral weakness, perhaps. If I eat there again, I will be very careful to enjoy the house red (which was perfectly decent) and stick to smaller quantities of the lighter of the offerings.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank BonsterMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Bueno”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

"Eyes bigger than your stomach" family sized and good value entrees.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luv1jazzDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing