We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very nice hotel. The best hotel gym I have ever seen. Free breakfast was good. Staff was very friendly. The pool had a lifeguard on duty which was a nice touch. My only complaint is the distance from DC. DC traffic is terrible.

Room Tip: It looked like a new hotel. It was very nice. Elevators were a little slow but that's just 3rd w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmac5300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hello! Thank you for sharing some great features on our hotel. Our fitness room gets a lot of use and we often hear good feedback. It is larger than most and it has the latest equipment. One guest shared with me how she loves it because you don't have to work out right next to someone else ;-) Thank you for also noticing our green efforts. We are a LEED designed hotel and always loking at ways to be more sustainable and eco friendly. Have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 599 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is brand new and beautifully decorated - a contemporary Hampton Inn ! The rooms are clean and comfortable, the free breakfast was better than 90% of complimentary breakfasts and the locatino cant be beat - one block away from the White House. I was a huge fan and will be back - the staff was stellar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaLWethersfield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hello! Great feedback - thank you! I do want to share that our location is great and easy access to DC and the Shady Grove metro on red line however we are not one block away from the White House. Safe travels and enjoy your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night before arriving to DC and prefared to save money on that night.
The hotel was really good. Rooms are clean and spaceous, and the hotel itself ( public areas) ia very nice.
Breakfast was quite good as well.
Assuming you'll want to hang out outside the hotel- you'd better have a car since the place hasn't got many proper places nearby.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ganit_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hello! Thank you for staying with us. Yes most restaurants, shops and entertainment are within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. We are excited for the new Watkins Mill development to be complete. It is next door to the hotel and then we will have restaurants, shops and a salon within walking distance. They start opening in July 2014 - hope you can come back and try them out. Have a great Summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel is great. Brand new, great services, excellent breakfast, and quiet rooms. It would have gotten five stars except for one glaring service that is available for free almost everywhere else, but they figured out a way to charge for it.

The hotel's "free" wifi is a very limited bandwidth, with incredibly slow connections. BUT if you want to pay $5 a day, you can get their "premium" wifi, which is standard speed elsewhere.

It's annoying and disappointing, especially when they specifically advertise that free wifi is always available at Hilton (Hampton) Inns. The only guests who don't have to pay are the Gold and Platinum members, which require Road warrior travel to even achieve every year.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank chicagorob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hello! Thank you for your review and feedback on your recent stay. When you come back please let us know so we can check on your internet access. We do have many business travelers stay here each week and we are not receiving negative feedback on our bandwidth. With your feedback we are looking into it again to be sure that it is standard. You are correct that if you are wanting premium access there is a fee but our standard access throughout the hotel is complimentary. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Have a great Summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was a quick 1 night stop with late arrival and early check-out. We had requested an upgrade to a suite and were concerned that wouldn't be possible because of the late arrival but when we checked in everything was waiting for us. The hotel was clean, with very comfortable accommodations. The staff was very friendly and professional. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hello! I hope you can get to come back and stay longer. We have great amenities to enjoy like a large fitness room, our salt purified indoor heated pool, plus a great Hampton hot breakfast which is included in your rate. Thank you for sharing your experience. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

It's really one of the best hampton inn hotle ,clean , neat the survice is great
The breakfast was very satisfying
The room which was a suite very beautiful and elegantly decorated .
The location is good , there is shopping center nearby , that had Roy Rogers open 24 hours in case you were there late.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hello! We really appreciate the review and feedback on your stay with us. Thank you for choosing our hotel. Have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The motel was very clean and updated. No shabby or outdated furniture, fixtures, etc. Very modern. The pool was saltwater (much nicer than chlorine) and was NOT filled at all hours with street urchins who clearly were not hotel guests (this has happened to me at other hotels). Breakfast offered a lot of choices. They offer a fantastic shuttle service to and from the metro station (and other places if need be) and the van driver was so friendly and likable that my son actually complained about missing him after we got back home! This was a great place to stay. Really impressed.

Room Tip: I can't think where one room would be better than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

WOW! So pleased we were able to show you true Hamptonality during your stay. Keith is a great team member and guests using our shuttle service often compliment him. Our hotel is fortunate not only to be new to the area but also to have great team members that love what they do. Hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.7 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
513 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
435 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Germantown Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg

Address: 960 N Frederick Ave, Gaithersburg, MD 20879-3327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range: $95 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg is an environmentally friendly, LEED designed Maryland hotel which is conveniently located just off I-270. A free hotel shuttle is provided within a 5 mile radius and to the Metro station (schedule at front desk). The property is near multiple businesses including IBM and Lockheed Martin. It is also just a short train ride from DC. All guests receive complimentary WiFi, hot breakfast, plus we have added an electric car charging station for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing