We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and cheap. One taco will fill you up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Bar

Taco Bar
Ranked #18 of 318 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fresh and cheap. One taco will fill you up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I love this place! We are regulars at the Taco Bar. It's not fancy at all...there's always a line to place your order at the counter because it's always busy and it's that good. There's at least 6 people working in the very spotless viewable kitchen and limited seating at a couple small tables next to the wine racks. So order your tacos to go, or opt for some outdoor seating when the weather cooperates. The Taco bar is my favorite place to stop for an authentic street style taco- which means no cheese and no sour cream. It's a cheap, somewhat healthy fast food option. Each taco costs under $3 and is which ever style meat you choose - chicken, suadero, bistec, lengua, or pastor and comes with 2 soft corn tortillas. My favorite is suadero, my daughter swears by the chicken. This taco is LOADED with meat. YOU can add your choice of condiments from the fixings bar. They have fresh cilantro, limes, pico de gallo, jalapeno's, pickled red onions and 4 kinds of salsa. Load up on all the fresh goodies and you have a tasty meal for under $3! The refried beans are wonderful too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dizziest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Hidden Gem" I'm still trying to appreciate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I had seen this place oddly located within a gas station many times and I was always surprised at how many people I would see eating outside during the warm weather months. I figured I needed to give this place a try. I got the taco combo with steak. I got excited every time I saw another customers order come out because everything looked amazing. Sadly, the steak tacos are not amazing. It's basically steak in a corn tortilla with nothing else on it. Everything else I saw had queso fresco and pico... mine looked rather sad and I was incredibly sad when I had to take it home and put my own sour cream and cheese on it. The beans were excellent though.

Next time I go (and I'm sure there will be a next time. i must rectify this) I will ask for their most popular entree as long as it's not the beef tongue.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food in DC Metro?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

OK - so you've read the other reviews and you know it's tucked next to a gas station and car wash. So you will see local workmen stream in and out and wonder why it has such a faithful clientele. The owner takes his business seriously and keeps a pretty close eye on everything that goes on.

We moved up from South Texas and spent years going through every Mexican and Tex-Mex joint in Maryland, Virginia and DC and this is hands down the best. The chicken tostadas, for example, are simple and done perfectly. The ingredients are good and each item is authentically done. Flautas, Tortas...everything is done the way it should be.

The dining experience is not really posh, as you kind of sit among racks of wine (they are also a wine store), but once you get the pico, hot sauces, jalapenos etc. loaded up, you sit down and are pretty focused on the food.

Really a great find, and not to be missed if you are up at Rio or driving out 270 in the Gaithersburg area.

Total win.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Chicken Sincro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Quite the unassuming place...it's located within a gas station within a beer and wine store....only when you walk around the aisles of wine, will you see a cash register/kitchen/etc. The food is so incredibly good and cheap-- i almost always get their chicken sincro, and then add jalapenos/green salsa/red salsa and cilantro on top at the little toppings bar across from the register. Something about the way their marinate the chicken....it's simply amazing. You HAVE to try it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best tacos around!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is at a gas station with a beer and wine store inside. This will make you question the location and quality of food. But, put that aside and get the tacos. All other stuff that I ordered there are superb! They give you large amount of meat in their tacos that one can get you full. The garnish bar is also awesome. You can top anything with different sauce or jalapeños or pico de gallo or whatever you fancy. The quality is great with everything they make. Give it a try and you will be satisfied!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Bar also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Taco Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing