We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unpleasant Stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An Unpleasant Stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

My husband and I chose this hotel because it was very close to his parents home where we had planned to attend a family birthday party. The hotel rate was cheap enough, but the property was filthy! Even though we had chosen a non-smoking room, the bedspreads had multiple holes from cigarette burns. When I went to use the shower, the surface of the bath tub was dirty with some kind of grey silt and hair. We chose to use the elevator to go to our room on the 3rd floor. There was food caked on the floor of the elevator, and food wrappers on the pathway to our room. We travel all over the world, and we have never encountered a more dirty environment in a hotel. My husband took pictures of our room and its surroundings and has sent them off to the corporate offices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Penngal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    11
    7
See reviews for
10
2
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
La Plata, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

I use them about 4 to 5 times per year. I always have clean linens, and the room is clean. The staff is always friendly and accommodating to my needs. If you are looking for something fancy or room service, try one of the super expensive hotels in the area. But if you want a nice room to sleep in, and be close to area restaurants and local parks and clubs,and not pay outrageous prices? pick Motel 6 Gaithersburg.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank screwball3964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

I am my college booked this motel. The motel looked nice on a approachable place. However the room given to us was not so good. There were still smoke stubs and sheet wasn't supposedly changed. In fact the room was infested with bugs and all the time I was suspecting something was wrong. I had to get my apartment fumigated a few weeks after that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keanu_maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

For starters, this location was HORRIBLE. It was positioned in between a freeway/train track and a car dealership! If you stay on the side facing the car dealership (which we were) you would be fine noise wise, but the view was horrendous. If you stay on the other side you hear trains passing by all day and night.

My family members checked us in and were treated rudely by the front desk staff. The cleaning staff also seemed to either give us dirty looks or just were not happy period.

The room itself was decent and was on the 3rd floor, so the use of the elevator (centrally located) was needed. Inside the room there was a sink outside of the bathroom (I hate when places do this!) as the bathroom was very tiny.

There was a person who looked to be a drug dealer loitering the parking lot when we arrived. After we dropped our luggage in the room we went to do a bit of shopping (which was close nearby) and when we returned the police in about 6 cars were in the middle or an arrest or something. We never did find out what happened, but just them being them left an unpleasant taste in our mouths.

I would personally pay a little more for a place in the same area. The proximity to Washington D.C. was actually great, so if you can find another motel/hotel in the vicinity, try that place first.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

For a Motel in this class it was a pretty good one. Clean room, helpful staff, good location.

BUT: Do NOT take a room on the backside of the hotel if you dont like trains. There are trains going by every 10 to 20 minutes and if you dont have a deep sleep this will kill your night. There is a sign about the trains at the checkin counter, so its ok.

Overall, nice stay (I came back late and was sleepy ;-)

  • Liked — Nice motel close to where my conference was, clean room
  • Disliked — Loud trains behind the building.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vvddss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
247 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

This is an old motel that they recently tried to stick some lipstick on. My room was non-smoking, but only for the night I was staying there because I don't smoke. It smelled really strong of smoke and when I got home I had to wash all my clothes, even the clean ones, to get the smell out.

The lobby was locked and I had to check in through a window smilar to a bank teller or ticket counter at the train station. The clerk was unfriendly and had a heavy accent.

Oh yeah, there were no toiletries. Just 1 small bar of soap. The towel was so small it was like a comedy. I'm glad no one was with me to see it though.

On top of it all there is a freight railroad rightbehind th property with trains coming through at all hours and there ae lots of birds around. My car was covered in the morning.

YUCK!

  • Liked — Bed, electricity, A/C
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pete7919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

Price was a little high for what you got. Room was not so clean. Check in was quick, location was decent for a traveller.

One thing, though, there were creepy stains on the mattress and, for some reason, my parents were brave enough to open a dresser to reveal an old disposable scalpel. Don't ask me, I'm just telling you how the stay was (creepy?)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — room was not clean
  • Tips/Secrets — don't look for the Gideon's Bible, you might find a human organ or two.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Touristeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.3 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - North
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg
TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg
#11 of 15 in Gaithersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg

Property: Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg
Address: 497 Quince Orchard Rd # 10/11, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-1403 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Motel-6, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Washington, Dc - Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Motel 6 Gaithersburg
Motel Six Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Motel 6
Gaithersburg Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing