We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Gaithersburg
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed one night (Saturday) at the Hyatt house, and i was impressed with the concept and the decor. The rooms were better than most of the high priced hotels. Living area, kitchen and bedroom are standard, but didn't get to see what the suites were like all at a very moderate price. I will definitely be going back to this hotel. Did i mention there is a free breakfast buffet with eggs, bacon, sausage gravy, made to order omelettes, ect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee_cline_556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, our team and your recent stay. We stand committed to delivering the best in customer service and product quality. Although I have only been here 1 month I am excited to be working here. I truly hope we can be of service to you again in the very near future.

Best Regards....

Michael J. Lavoie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    130
    51
    22
    16
See reviews for
220
66
23
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ithaca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and have seen it deteriorate.

The good: staff is very nice and helpful; rooms have been renovated.

The bad: prices have increased, as much as 30% and value has gone down for your staying experience; most rooms have "stink" bugs that you'll run into from time to time (they are flat critters that are harmless but disconcerting to see).

The ugly: hotel has long term patrons that work on the electrical power lines (you'll notice their large trucks) and most of them seem to smoke and are otherwise rowdy, so if you are unlucky to be next to a smoker it is horrible as the smoke filtering into your room will smell like dog feces. Hotel is supposed to be nonsmoking - that means no smoking anywhere on the premises, not only in the rooms.

Recommendation: go to the Hyatt Regency in Bethesda (11 miles away) - much nicer, closer to shopping and DC, and its only a little more.

Room Tip: if you see powerline trucks near your room, ask to stay at some other part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments about your stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team please accept my apology that your stay was so poor. Your comments are very valuable to us as we strive to be the best in customer service and product quality. Your comments will be reviewed by our entire team and I assure you we will set out a course for improvement. I have only been here 1 month as the new General Manager and customer service is my highest focus. I truly hope we can be of service to you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Michael J. Lavoie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was the first stay at this hotel as well as the first for a stay at Hyatt House since they rebranded from Hyatt Summerfield Suites. I was traveling with friends and we had a 2 bedroom suite. Check in was quick and easy, and the room was spacious, clean and updated - just what I expect from a Hyatt property. Shady Grove metro station is nearby as well. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceCkingIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our team. I am so happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Although I have only been here 1 month as General Manager I am excited to be working here at the Hyatt House in Gaithersburg. I truly hope we can be of service to you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Michael J. Lavoie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here as we needed a suite and it was the cheapest. I thought some of the good reviews would make it a better experience than the last time we were there, but we were sadly mistaken.

The only good part of the stay was the room itself as it was recently redone and the beds were good. The pull out couch was actually comfortable which is not usually the case. It would be nice if the pull out bed had a blanket on it and not have to ask for it.

The construction was visible all over the hotel but it was not welcome when they started around 7am with the banging and drilling.

The breakfast was a big cluster and very disorganized. Most of the time the food and plates were out which was disappointing. There was an omelet bar but it was 45 minute wait for one which is something you cannot wait for.

The front desk staff was also not very good during our stay. The first time I called during the morning to get a blanket sent to our room, it took 30 rings before someone picked up. After requesting the blanket it never came and I had to call again that night. I also called to get lights that were out replaced in our room and that was never done after multiple calls.

I feel the rooms are nice and the property will get better with renovations but that will not help more customer service.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktpc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We travel at least weekly for business, leisure, and sports tournaments. Never in my life have I encountered a situation like this. Our daughter's soccer team booked rooms through the Bethesda Tournament as they were required to do so to participate in the tournament. The rooms were booked within the hour the tournament booking opened, and there were still rooms remaining once we completed booking, so we know that the tournament was not oversold at that point. I called three days prior to our flight down to reconfirm the rooms and Marlene at the front desk went through every room with me and reconfirmed each. We had rented multiple 2 bedroom suites so that 2 players and 2 parents could share. Upon our arrival at the hotel, Damon at the front desk informed us that the hotel was significantly oversold and that instead of the 2 bedroom suites we had contracted, each of our 2 bedroom suites had been downgraded to a one bedroom suite. We went from having 7 two bedroom suites (14 beds) booked to having 7 one bedroom suites (7 beds). They did not offer to help us move, so we called other hotels on our own. Their solution was to put parents and kids together on a sofa bed. Despite having to wake up at 5:30am for the tournament, we were up and trying to resolve this problem until almost midnight. The hotel placed complete blame for the overselling on the Bethesda Convention Bureau, which apparently controls the rooms for the tournament. Some of us (those who could fit) are still here, and we have asked repeatedly to speak to a manager, but the desk workers say they do not know how to get in touch with the manager or that the manager will arrive later. Others from different teams are also at the front desk complaining and have noted that this has happened multiple times to multiple teams. We would like to speak to management but no one gives a response other than waiting for a manager. The hotel had other single suites but said they were reserved and refused to give us any more rooms. The difference in a one bedroom vs two bedroom suite is $20, but many on the team scrambled to find rooms at a different hotel and are now paying much more than that out of pocket. Shame on this hotel for running this scam. If anyone in management would ever give us the courtesy of a reply, we would like to discuss this further. A response that you would like us to come down another time is not sufficient as we are a flight away and in no case would we trust you again to stay here. Please respond today so that we can actually address this while we are here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soccermom103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
534 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is all-suites with more than ample room, free wi-fi, free breakfast, decent food at the bar, and the most friendly and helpful staff. My suite smelled a little musty (it was the on first floor in building F) but that should be easily correctable. Damon at the front desk (and he worked the bar too one evening) is very friendly and nice. I interacted with maybe a half a dozen employees at this property and they were all very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom amenities include soap, shampoo, conditioner. If you're someone who is used to lotion in a hotel room, you will want to bring your own as there wasn't any. But the room has everything else you need. Plus they will stock your fridge if you ask them to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Budget hotel which offer essentially small apartments for the price of a room. Nicely kept grounds with a fire pit, basketball court and pool. Rooms have a living room with open kitchen and separate bedroom. Clean and contemporary. Staff is very nice and caring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Property: HYATT house Gaithersburg
Address: 200 Skidmore Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-1254
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing