We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, huge suites, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Gaithersburg
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Renton, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Great value, huge suites, friendly staff”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is all-suites with more than ample room, free wi-fi, free breakfast, decent food at the bar, and the most friendly and helpful staff. My suite smelled a little musty (it was the on first floor in building F) but that should be easily correctable. Damon at the front desk (and he worked the bar too one evening) is very friendly and nice. I interacted with maybe a half a dozen employees at this property and they were all very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom amenities include soap, shampoo, conditioner. If you're someone who is used to lotion in a hotel room, you will want to bring your own as there wasn't any. But the room has everything else you need. Plus they will stock your fridge if you ask them to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    133
    52
    22
    18
See reviews for
223
71
23
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Budget hotel which offer essentially small apartments for the price of a room. Nicely kept grounds with a fire pit, basketball court and pool. Rooms have a living room with open kitchen and separate bedroom. Clean and contemporary. Staff is very nice and caring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked at this hotel because of the Hyatt name. The first disturbing sign was the rude front desk clerk. We had requested a room with a king bed and she assured us that's what we were getting. Other than that, she acted like she couldn't wait to get rid of us. That was fine- we couldn't wait to get away from her either. The directions she gave us to our room were curt and not the least bit helpful.

When we finally did find the room, we were horrified. A heavy musty odor greeted us the minute we opened the door. The bathroom was filthy and the bed was not the king size we were promised.

We called the front desk right away to request another room, but were told there were none available and she (the one who checked us in) said she couldn't help us because we had booked on Hotels.com.

There was no way we could have spent the night in such a place, so left. We called Hotels.com and were given a prompt refund, even though it was past the cancellation time.

Room Tip: Check the room before you sign on the dotted line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evamaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

How pleasant to come back to the same city as two years ago (with Kryon and the Lemurian Sisterhood event) and find this upgrade! Above and beyond the convenient location, there is the genuine hospitality of the staff (shout out to Damien and Phillip) for making us feel taken care of; the check in and out process, the restaurant - all of it. The 'new' rooms are suites with full kitchens, and all the amenities. I knew I was in a heavenly shower when there was a little shelf for my foot to rest on while shaving! Lots of water pressure, comfy beds and pillows, great (clean) carpet, big closet, quiet AC. The restaurant was also 'above and beyond' with a chef that was willing to create substitutions for our groups' varying gastronomic needs. Decent wines with more-than-generous pours made us happy. The chocolate lava cake wasn't as fresh as others we've had, but all in all, a satisfying stay at a reasonable price. We'll be back!

Room Tip: This is a 3 story property WITHOUT elevators; ask for a ground floor when you make your reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberWolfPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readington, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a very inexpensive quality place to stay in the DC area. Can get down to DC in 20 minutes without traffic. Also very close to the Shady Grove metro station. Rooms are nice, clean, and very large. King size bed was very comfortable. Only disappointments were that I could not get wifi on my iPod touch, and the breakfast could be better. The person at the front desk told me she also has problems getting wifi with Apple products. This needs to be corrected. The breakfast was the usual powdered scrambled eggs and sausage. No potatoes. No waffle maker. But certainly better than nothing. There was a beautiful courtyard and pool area. I have stayed here before and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronxboy559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for our daughter's wedding in the nearby Germantown area. We had a two bedroom/2 bathroom suite with full kitchen. We did the all the flowers for the wedding in the kitchen dining area and the staff cleaned the room spotless when we returned. The breakfast was ok. Service was great. They even let us check in early which was really helpful. We used the AARP rate for a weekend and got a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iownit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The reason I rated the long term stay hotel 5 stars is entirely due to the excellent service I have received while staying here. Phil the gentleman who typically works at the bar has been one of the most amazing provider and accommodater. Blessing and Ursala have been great as well! There are definitely some problems with this hotel. There is black mold everywhere! My room often smells moldy when I come in after work for the day. I've been combating a respiratory infection for a week now and I'm not convinced this mold may be some of the reason why. There is also a major issue with one of the staff of the hotel. Neha has been the MOST UNHELPFUL person I've ever experienced in the hotel industry... and I've been traveling awhile. Please just walk away if you need help and wait to for someone else to be working. I've seen her service make people cry. I've had to wait for the shuttle which is not in use for at least an hour on multiple occasions. Overall it has been a great summer and Hyatt House and definitely helped provide this.... However, management really need to get some things straight starting with removing people to demonstrate bad service (Neha) and putting the people who do excellent work in a higher position (Phil, Blessing)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#6 of 15 in Gaithersburg
413 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
3.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Property: HYATT house Gaithersburg
Address: 200 Skidmore Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-1254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing