We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stayed here many times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HYATT house Gaithersburg
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Needham MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed here many times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We visit family in the area, so we have stayed here half a dozen times. It is clean, the staff is friendly, breakfast is hot and generous, and having a kitchenette makes it possible to warm a pizza for the kids. Very happy with the place. One scary incident points up the fact that some people use hotel/motels for partying and drinking... someone came pounding on our door late at night. But this is not commonplace. I returned to the hotel, even after we had that incident.

Room Tip: Really no service to comment on . You carry your own bags, and the maid only comes if you leave a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rshdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Welcome back! I am glad you have enjoyed your stays at our hotel. We certainly look forward to seeing you in the near future and if you have a chance it would be my pleasure to meet you.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    103
    42
    20
    15
See reviews for
179
50
15
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is the perfect place to stay if you are touring Washington, D.C. The hotel is at the end of the MetroRail red line (Shady Grove station) and if you don't mind the 30 to 40 minute ride to and from DC, this is the way to go. Every morning we enjoyed a nice, hot breakfast and then the hotel shuttle took us to the metrorail station. We spent the days sightseeing, taking in the museums, monuments, etc. and then caught the metrorail back to the Shady Grove station. After a long day of walking the sights, it was nice to relax on the rail ride back to the hotel. The shuttle picked us up and brought us back to the hotel. The 4 of us stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, full kitchen, living room suite and loved every moment of it. We chose to eat-in 3 of our 5 dinners and the kitchen was perfectly stocked with most everything you need for a simple supper. We didn't use the pool ourselves but the people we saw using it seemed to be enjoying themselves. When we return to DC we will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyBeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay here at the hotel while visitng the DC area. Our suites are great for families and being able to have a kitchen in all of our suites in certainly an added benefit. We look forward to having you again in the future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great Family Hotel, with suites that sleep up to 8 people. We came with a girl scout troop, and had 8 people in a large trio suite - 2 bedrooms with doors, 1 living room & kitchen common area, 2 bathrooms, 2 double beds, one king, and one pullout couch. The girls loved it - the room was huge - they kept taking pictures of the room & the pool. There is a full kitchen with cups/plates/glasses, and a dining table with chairs. Best of all, it is just off a highway, and close to the Shady Grove metro stop, so getting to Washington DC is very easy. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful, with eggs, bacon, sausage, english muffins, toast, juice, Starbucks coffee, and these incredible fresh-baked muffins. I plan to return with my family on vacation, it was that good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveler93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here to attend one of our relative's wedding in the area. We were pleasantly surprised by the spacious rooms which include a full kitchen, a separate living room and a bedroom. The room was clean and quiet. The kitchen even had paper towels and dish washing soap. The staff were nice and accommodating. The breakfast that’s included with the room was good. The only negative was the size of the bathroom, however, it was enough. Also, there are three total floors to the hotel and there are no elevators, so just keep that in mind. The location is close to the highway and restaurants. Overall, a very pleasant experience and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed all of our guest amenities in the rooms. I wish your relatives well with their marriage and look forward to having you at the hotel in near future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hyatt House Gaithersburg for the weekend. There were some good and bad of the stay.

Pros:
The rooms were recently redone and in good condition.
The beds were really comfortable.
The location was good. Close to the ICC, 370 and 270.
Had a first floor room, so we did not have to walk up stairs.

Cons:
*Parking was very limited near my room due to trucks parked across 3-5 spots and mobile
trailers. On Saturday night, had to park on the other side of property.
*Room walls were paper thin, could hear everything in the next room and the people walking by
outside.
*Even when we had our clean our room sign out, housekeeping did not clean the toom.
*Coming to breakfast at 9am each day found either the items were gone or cold. On Sunday went
to have toast and the bread was stale. Some people asked if they were going to be refilled and
were told that they were being cooked, but never saw them replaced.

It was an ok stay, not the greatest. Will probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktpc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your response, I would like to apologize that your stay was only "ok" as we certainly shoot for all of our guests to have great stays.

Typically we have sufficient parking especially on weekends but to my understanding the hotel was sold out during this particular weekend. It is also disappointing to hear that your breakfast was less than your expectations.

Your comments and feedback is important to us at the hotel so future guests don't have similar experiences. I ask that you give us another chance in the future as many of the issues you experienced are not common here at the hotel.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This place just completed renovation of all rooms earlier this year. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The complimentary full breakfast and shuttle service make your life so much eaier. Most of their staff are very friendly and helpful making you feel like you are part of their family. I have made this place my home every time I travel to the area for business. My friends stayed here recently and they were impressed with the services and staff as well as their complimentary wine bar at their manager’s reception Monday-Thursday.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk staff what you prefer, they try very hard to accomendate your need. By the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwang20874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad the Hyatt house in Gaithersburg has become a "Home away from home" for you. We certainly appreciate you also sharing your newly renovated home with your friends as well. The evening social is a favorite time of mine as guests such as yourself are able to wind down after a long day of work. It would be my pleasure to meet you on a future trip.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Hyatt House in Gaithersburg has been my home three to four nights a week for the last ten months. It was recently renovated, so all the rooms have new furniture, fixtures and appliances. The management and staff are absolutely lovely people. They consistently go out of their way to ensure guest guest comfort. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Hotel is three floors, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad that we as a staff consistenly go out of our way to ensure your comfort as a guest of our hotel. We look forward to having you continue to stay with us in the future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
1.1 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#5 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Property: HYATT house Gaithersburg
Address: 200 Skidmore Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-1254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing