We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please update your trip advisor menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Canyon Grill

Copper Canyon Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Copper Canyon Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 334 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Welcome to Copper Canyon Grill Restaurants where you’ll enjoy full flavored, fresh American cuisine served in a casual, energetic atmosphere.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Please update your trip advisor menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked a reservation through trip advisor / open table. We got there about 40 minutes before our reservation since the movie let out early. We were just hoping that maybe there was a table open. We got there and saw 4 tables in clear sight open and a line of people waiting for a table. We were told that we probably wouldn't be seated until our reservation because they were booked. We stood and waiting while those 4 tables were never filled.

When we were finally seated at our table, we noticed that the prices were different than on trip advisor. Add about $3-6 for a more accurate idea.

The food was great and our server was better than excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benhakim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    150
    50
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Was in Rio and have not made a decision on which restaurant to have dinner. My friend made mention about Copper Canyon and how good the food was so Copper Canyon it is. Since I was driving i decided to skip wine and just ordered a soda. Upon entering the establishment we were greeted and had to register to be seated. It did not take long for a server to come and tell us their specials. My friend decided to order the Wood-fired Rotisserie Chicken while i ordered their Filet Mignon. The Chicken was very juicy and the Filet Mignon was better than the steak i had at Ruth Chris. The server was very attentive and pleasant. After dinner, we were enticed by the server to try their Key Lime Pie and we did not object. I am not a big fan of Key Lime pie but this is one of the better pies i have tried. Will definitely be back for more.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cecil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Hot Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We went to eat and ended up being cooked by the overhead lighting . Food was decent but not exceptional. Beer a little disappointing .

Helpful?
Thank NeilStubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“There are better places in the area...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Copper Canyon Grill is a chain that has been very successful. I've been to this one in Gaithersburg a few times but will probably not return. The food is okay... nothing that you can't get in any other good diner or casual restaurant. But, the prices are too high for what you are getting. I usually don't complain about prices as I feel that eating out is a whole "experience" not just a place for food, but the prices are of a higher level restaurant but without the "higher" level of food.
Another issue that I find annoying is the lack of tables. There are booths all over the restaurant but not many tables. For someone like myself who is partially handicapped, the booths are difficult to deal with and, further, cannot accommodate larger groups of people. Without the availability of tables, my colleagues and I had to sit at separate booths, rather than in one larger table.
The noise level is also intrusive. The large bar in the center makes for increased noise to the point of not being able to converse at your table. Overall, I would say, there are many other places in the area to choose from, so choose somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drlynnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

A great upscale lunch venue near Rockville. Huge sandwiches and salads all priced at about $15. Not crowded, plenty of booths and an attentive wait staff. Parking can be tough at about 1230 but there is plenty if you look for it. Really a nice experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VaTechDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Canyon Grill also viewed

 

Been to Copper Canyon Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing