We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real home away from your home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Get Real Backpackers
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Actually it was just luck that we found out about this place in Nelson Area. We met Brent in another place on the West Coast. He invited us to come to his „secret“ place :) 'Cause we were looking for work in Nelson – And this was the best thing could happened to us!
We arrived in Wakefield at the end of february – and we stayed there till mid may.
You know why? Because it was indescribable beautifull!
Brent, the hostel manager is young and full of energy :P He travelled aswell in South Amarica, Europe and many other places in the world. So he knows what a backpacker want & need!
He's cooking every morning AMAZING self-made pancakes for all guests.
And on some evenings he served his special home-made burgers for everyone.
The property is very, very unique! Its 25k from Nelson City, in Wakefield. The house is sitting on a hill and the view is awesome and alomst unreal! Every morning we woke up with the sunrise. And we can tell you: You have never seen this before! At some mornings the fog was hanging in the trees and you are thinking „That must be heaven!“
On the other side of the house you can walk up a little hill and watch the sunset. The property is very wide so you can do little walkes their. And just relax with a beer and see a very clear star-sky and the city light from Nelson. Anyway there is a lot of space. You will have a lot of fun on the property.
In the garden is a big trampoline, a slackline, a bonfire-place and a BBQ. There is also a vege-garden with parsley, courgette, pumpkin, herbs and much more! If you are lucky you will find some lemons on the lemon-tree. – just help yourself ! Its all for the guests! And everything organic.
There are chickens also – so you can buy really good free-range eggs.
Anyway there are a lot of animals! Cows, goats, a „wild“ cat, ducks and a sheep-dog from the neighbor. And the best animal is striky the pig : )
If you don't have a car just grab a push bike and drive 5 minutes to the supermarket in town.
Anyway: Its not a problem if you don't have a car! Its no barrier! There are busses to Wakefield and Brent or Trevor will pick you up in town.
The house is just incredble wonderfull! The living room is very comfy – there is a fire place and the couches are very cosy. The kitchen is fully equipet and always clean! The dinning table is made by Brent and there is enough space for all the guests. So its very easy to meet people. You will feel in a short time like at home – but better!
The sleeping-rooms are wow! No bunks. And some beds are made by Brent as well. And we loved it! Everywhere is so much space for all your stuff! The showers are always hot and everything is very clean.

Trevor, thank you so much for letting us in your home & showing us the place where you grew up :) And taking us on a huntig adventure. It was a fabulous night! Thanks for all the laughs and all your jokes :-D

And last but not least: Brent! Thank you sooo sooo much! We can't put it all in words. But here are some examples: Brent took us and some other guest on a day-trip to a beeeautifull gorge! He showed us around Wakefield and we spend an fantastic sunny day on the water. At another day, Brent drove us to the ocean and gave us Kayaks we can use! We could explore some little islands around Nelson and Richmond. On a weekend we planed with more people from the hostel to go to Takaka & the Pupu Spring– and Brent took us to a cool concert in the Mussel Inn. If you want to know what to do in Nelson + around he will give you the best advises! He knows this place and is always happy to help travellers with some insider tipps.
Brent, you are just an awesome person! We can't discribe HOW happy we are that we met you! We want to say „thank you“ for all the days, for all the trips, for all your love and all what you are! Please never give up – we know your dreams will come true. You deserve it so much! And we hope to see you very, very soon again : ) There will be always a bed in Germany for you.
Love + hugs
Philip & Ronja

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronja_travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Get Real is an awesome hostel on a farm 30 min out of Nelson (they do pick ups though). They also got a pig, chickens, goats etc and a vege garden which we were advised to help ourselves from.
As they only got about 10 beds it's a very great atmosphere with top conversations. Unfortunately there is only one shower for all guests so it can get bust in the mornings.
BUT: the free and homemade pancakes in the morning will make you forget a short wait instantly!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank TamiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

"Get Real" Backpacker, "Get Real" Adventure, "Get Real" New Zealand experience... And mostly, "Get Real" paradise! If you ever have the chance to come in this beautiful country, don't miss one of his most beautiful place! On the top of the hill, your vew will be amazing and your tranquility never disturbed! You get everything you need in this friendly house (very clean kitchen, rooms and bathrooms), supermarkets are 5 minutes away... All you have to do is bring your backpack and a smile... "Just enjoy and relax" as Brent will tell you! Trevor will give you a ride around all the property where you can just enjoy the nature but also meet goats, cows, dog, ducks, chickens... The weather, mostly nice and sunny in this region, will permit you to enjoy the small pool and long nights outside... Even around a big fire sometimes! Be prepared to see perfect sunrises and sunsets and get back the road full of gorgeous memories! Thank you very much to you two, I will never forget this part of my travel, you made it so joyful ;)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauluciani8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you're looking for a place to get away from it all and relax, or a place to find unexpectedly fun and kind people, Get Real Backpackers is the place to go. You won't find it in any BBH guide; it's New Zealand's best kept hostel secret, which is why you'll find only the most fun and adventurous people there. Not that it's hard to find--there are plenty of signs and Brent can pick you up in Nelson, 25 minutes away. It might seem like a far distance from the city, but you won't want to leave Get Real Backpackers once you arrive at the top of the little mountain (and if you do, there are plenty of ways to get to Nelson). The rooms are amazing--no bunk beds, just separate comfy beds in lofty-ceilinged rooms. The house has been describe by many guests as "their dream house" and once you see the bright spacious rooms, you'll understand.

To give you a picture of my stay at Get Real Backpackers, I called Brent from the Nelson i-site and he picked me up, no problem. As soon as I got to the house and saw my room, I knew I wanted to stay there longer. There was plenty of friendly company downstairs but absolutely no pressure to be social, which was nice after hiking the Abel Tasman and just wanting to rest. While at Get Real, Brent gave me a ride up the long driveway on a dirtbike, his friend took us on a car ride through a creek and to the top of the hill/mountain, a wwoofer drove me and 4 others in a trailer attached to a quad on a bumpy fun ride up to see the sunset, and Brent took us swimming nearby to a place with a cliff and a rope swing to jump from.

I only stayed for three days, but I will never forget the spectacular time I had at Get Real Backpackers. I came to find a bed and instead I found the first place that felt like home during my two months in New Zealand. Whatever you're looking for, you will find it at Get Real Backpackers. Tell your friends, neighbors, strangers you meet on the street--this is a secret you'll want to share.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBlasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stay there only for one night but it was really great!

Brent is a nice guy and very friendly. The house is nice and in good shape! Everything was clean and ok. The pancakes for the breakfast are very good. Brent take us and Ruger (the lazy dog) to a goat chase. This was really cool. Brent gave us some good tips for our ongoing travel on the West Coast.

We recommend it and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Place looks and feels like home. It is settled on an awesome hill with great view (!) and the owners of the hostel are so friendly that they even stoped their hunting session just to pick us up. It is deffinitely worth staying there! Cheers for the great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KonradWitterstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

this backpacker is just awesome.
in this hostel you will feel like at home. it is out of wakefield town but it worth it! from the top of the where the house was build you will have an amazing view from nelson and it suburb. come and enjoy the sunrise and sunset from the terrasse or the hill.

on your way to the east or west coast have a rest in this place. it is close to Nelson and Abel tasman park.

at get real backpacker you will hae a great real human adventure!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Get Real Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Get Real Backpackers

Address: 74B Eighty Eight Valley Road, Wakefield 7095, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wakefield
Price Range: $22 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a fantastic location with beautiful panoramic views across the valley through to Nelson and out to sea. We offer private and dorm rooms as well as space for camper vans and tents to stay. We are animal friendly and have self service in the kitchen all through the day and a great breakfast to offer with fresh pancakes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing