We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”
Review of Savage River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savage River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Frostburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hyndman, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My husband and I spent one night in a cabin. Everyone was very kind and helpful. We had in cabin dinning of which was nice. The only problem with it was the food was not very warm. The cabin itself was very cozy and clean. The lights were on and the fireplace glowing when we arrived. We were also able to take our little Morkie with us which was an added treat. In the morning there were muffins and orange juice awaiting us as well as a dog biscuit for our little friend. If you are looking for a nice peaceful getaway I would recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenie62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    78
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
36
282
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

This was our first time at the Savage River Lodge and it exceeded all of our expectations! With the snow and very cold temperatures, we really appreciated the fireplace and everything about our cozy cabin. The food is delicious, the service and staff are outstanding, friendly and professional, the hiking is fabulous and we are definitely going back to experience the other 3 seasons. We especially enjoyed decorating our own tree (courtesy of SRL) XMAS Eve and the candy-stuffed stockings that were delivered with our homemade muffins and juice XMAS morning! Dinner in our cabin after the massages our last day made it a picture perfect ending. Thank you for making this one of our favorite XMAS memories!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 350shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2010

It was our first visit to SRL and we will definitely be back. It is such a beautiful and relaxing place, less than 3 hours from DC. We were truly pleased by the attentiveness of the staff, who warmly greeted us upon our arrival, and continued to be as welcoming as possible throughout our visit. Meals were fantastic, and I was especially pleased to see that they had a gluten-free menu. (Order the meatloaf!) Our cabin was so cozy, which made it hard to leave, but we eventually did venture out for some cross-country skiing. Later, we warmed up in the main lodge with its massive fireplace. The awesome bartender made sure that everyone was comfortable. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbeson, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The best Christmas present ever. Beautiful and picturesque, looks like a Christmas card that came to life. Great food, comfortable cabin, peaceful and the most relaxing vacation anyone could hope for. Even our 10 year old dog was acting like a puppy again while playing in the snow! Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linseed08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allegheny township
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Had the most wonderful christmas ever at Savage River lodge. gorgeous log cabin with some many extra touches made it a truly magical xmas. . private cabin even came with a x-mas tree. super pet friendlyy, brought our dog and he even had gourmet food menu. loved the picnic basket delievered for breakfast with mason jar juice and yummy muffins. so serile and amazing. relaxing and tranquil, perfect! service and staff were great. Husband mentioned my borthday was next week, so when we arrived, had a ballon, chocolate and wine for me, such personal special touches makes this place a dream.. even had information for us a sleigh ride , so did that on xmas eve, a real dream come true. so truly a magical holiday. cant wait to go back, even zeus misses his morning dog treat in the picnic basket.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleN68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend stay with friends at the SRL. It was the perfect escape if you are looking for quiet, rest, good food and relaxation. The cabins are well equipped, well heated, solid - not your normal image of "cabin". We thoroughly enjoyed having no agenda, no tv, and no radio. We treated ourselves to dinner at the lodge on saturday night (make reservations in advance!). It was top notch and enjoyed every bite.
We didn't bring dogs, but it's definitely pet friendly! We did get to meet the owner, Jan & Mike, and you can see why this place is so popular. We would recommend going any season, and we look forward to going again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajsajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This is a heavenly retreat for dog owners. Dogs are welcome and the location in this vast wilderness is spectacular. It's only 3 hours from DC, and 99% of the road is interstate. The rooms are individual cabins, carefully crafted and furnished with all you can ask for. The food at the lodge out of this world. My only regret is that the rates are a bit too high for a weekend!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cypris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
5.0 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
75 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
71 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Frostburg
5.3 mi away
Allegheny Trail House B&B
Allegheny Trail House B&B
#2 of 3 in Frostburg
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savage River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savage River Lodge

Property: Savage River Lodge
Address: 1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532-3817
Location: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frostburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort - Privacy - Relaxation. We often hear these words when people talk about the Savage River Lodge. Nestled within more than 700 acres of Western Maryland's Savage River State Forest, the lodge is a peaceful retreat from a busy world. Once you're here, you'll find all the elements of relaxation and comfort--fantastic food, sink-into accommodations, your own private cabin, and exceptional hospitality. Whether you prefer to watch nature from your rocking chair or spend your day in pursuit of your favorite outdoor activity, you'll take home the spirit of the forest...and the Savage River Lodge. Our eighteen luxury cabins and the nearby lodge building, surrounded by the forest, convey a rustic, lived-in comfort. Our amenities and appointments, however are decidedly upscale and infused with a genuinely friendly and relaxed hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Savage River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savage River Hotel Frostburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing