We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet, secluded getaway destination not to be missed.”
Review of Savage River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savage River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Frostburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A quiet, secluded getaway destination not to be missed.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We just spent our third Thanksgiving here and will definitely be back for more. This is a hidden gem, nestled in the mountains of Western Maryland: a snug lodge with excellent food and cozy cabins set in the woods. Our party of 14 could not have felt more at home.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pohakuloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    78
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
36
283
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Booked a cabin and made reservations at the restaurant for an anniversary celebration. The property was beautiful and the cabins adequate (for the price should have been more than adequate). The lodge was smokey from an unattended fire (so we were not able to sit and enjoy the ambiance) and the restaurant a complete disappointment. Unable to eat the food and went to bed hungry. Owner and staff completely out of touch and did not respond well to our complaints. Will not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank birthday58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a great stay!
They have a very gorgeous location. The cabins offer privacy and comfort, while the lodge offers the comfort of a real fire, the bar and dining. The staff was very responsive, one example they setup a fire outside before dinner for us.

If you go, ask to have a cabin that’s porch faces the woods. They have some arrangements for day trips. Research them yourselves; we saved by booking directly with the vendors the lodge marks these up a bit. We booked a cheese tasting at Firefly Creamery ourselves for 130 dollars, while the SRL charges 175 for the same tasting.

The desk staff was a-little awkward at moments and not super-efficient. Our best example was when we checked out they had to calculate our dining and bar charges, which seemed natural. This took 20mins, I am not kidding. A two night stay, two dinners and one bar bill took 20 mins to calculate. I can’t put my finger on it, but there is something not inviting to the desk area, which is not in harmony with the rest of the experience.

Over all with the age and use of these cabins they look to be in good shape, but not perfect. It’s hard to overlook stains in the carpet at this price point. Although you can tell they are up-keeping the cabins you can spot signs of age. I observed some of the same notes below from other reviews. The cabins need attention in some areas. I have 4 examples. The carpets had stains in them. The door frame had chewing marks. The fabric in one of the arm chair was worn down and piling. The door mat was faded. The Cabin also felt very dark. They either need more lights or brighter bulbs.

Overall we had a great experience here, but the SRL has some room for improvement. Its hard to rate the SRL, because they are above average, but maybe shy of very good. I will error on the very good side.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graceandpride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

An expensive mistake. Rundown cabins, too close together, interiors mediocre and far from luxury linens. I could not wait to leave. None if our windows locked, no deadbolt on the exterior door, poor WiFi, Etc. I could go on forever. We travel a lot. This was by far our biggest disappointment given the cost of the accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank InteriorDesignProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

beautiful log cabin ,the restaurant was excellent ,service was great in the restaurant ,on the low side the welcoming staff was not very welcoming!
will definitely go back and two friends have already gone.
just don't expect a joyful welcome .

Room Tip: forest view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We just got back from our second get away to Savage River Lodge. The first was about a year and a half ago. We were excited when arriving for our two night stay and left saying we will never go back and calling our friends who we had recommended the place to tell them not to go. First, I will say that all of the staff were excellent. I was surprised when I voiced my concerns and was told they had heard it before. The road leading to the lodge is in such poor condition that my husband was worried he would damage our car. The lodge itself is pretty the food average. The first time we stayed here we felt the cabins were tired. This time we felt they are run down. Torn carpet, tired furniture, broken windows and screens. It was warm this weekend and my husband must have killed fifty black fly's in our cabin. We could not figure where they were coming from. We spent most of our time on the front porch as the bugs were driving me crazy. For paying $280 a night (30 extra because we had our eleven pound dog with us) we feel that it certainly was not a quality stay. When we check out and I was sharing my concerns the couple waiting in line stepped up and said they agreed and also had told their friends not to book a cabin. They are expanding on the property so I am guessing that's how the revenue from the cabins is being spent. Very Disappointing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST HAMPTON, CT
Level Contributor
237 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We traveled to Frostburg to bike the Great Allegheny Passage. We loved the rustic features of the Inn, and the cabin was peaceful, if nothing else. A basket of muffins, orange juice and the paper comes each morning around 8, and it was very charming. The bed in the loft was soft and comfy! The access road is a bit rough. It is long and bumpy, and if you have a good car, leave it at home. However, the deer posing in the woods is a special treat. Rain prevented us from doing the GAP more than one day, but it was beautiful and fun. Mike at the Lodge made sure we accessed the trail at the right spot so we had a fun ride. There is little nearby for entertainment, but we did try the Rocky Gap casino. It is new and interesting. On the rain day, we visited Fallingwater...a real treat! I was a bit disappointed when we left. SRL added $84.00 to our bill for picnic lunch which they did not give us. When I pointed it out, the girl stated that the lunch was there for us if we wanted it--meaning she knew it was there and that they were charging us for it, but did not offer it to us. Check your bill before you leave! $84.00 for sandwiches, apples, bagged chips and water bottles--wow! The lunches cost more than dinner, and no champagne is included!

Green Features: Very concerned with environmental issues....limited maid service to keep down washing.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDumont821984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeDog, Owner at Savage River Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
JDunmont822984

Even with the rainy weather, we are glad that you were able to enjoy the Great Allegany Passage and Fallingwater, both are wonderful experiences in our neck of the woods.

We apologize for the mix up on your lunches. Since you had originally booked our Half Gap package, which includes shuttle service and two lunches each day, we were prepared for that. Additionally, we were under the impression that despite not biking the second day, you still wanted the picnic lunch, which is $20 per person. We had in fact charged you for two lunches, both days at $80 total.

When you questioned your bill and seemed unhappy at check out, we actually removed all four lunch charges, including the two you took on your biking trip with you, instead of just the two that were waiting for you in the kitchen for your departure.

Despite the biking package mix up, we hope that you return and maybe get the chance to do the whole GAP!

Sincerely,

Jan Russell, Owner at Savage River Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
5.0 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
75 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Frostburg
7.5 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
71 reviews
5.3 mi away
Allegheny Trail House B&B
Allegheny Trail House B&B
#2 of 3 in Frostburg
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savage River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savage River Lodge

Property: Savage River Lodge
Address: 1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532-3817
Location: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frostburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort - Privacy - Relaxation. We often hear these words when people talk about the Savage River Lodge. Nestled within more than 700 acres of Western Maryland's Savage River State Forest, the lodge is a peaceful retreat from a busy world. Once you're here, you'll find all the elements of relaxation and comfort--fantastic food, sink-into accommodations, your own private cabin, and exceptional hospitality. Whether you prefer to watch nature from your rocking chair or spend your day in pursuit of your favorite outdoor activity, you'll take home the spirit of the forest...and the Savage River Lodge. Our eighteen luxury cabins and the nearby lodge building, surrounded by the forest, convey a rustic, lived-in comfort. Our amenities and appointments, however are decidedly upscale and infused with a genuinely friendly and relaxed hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Savage River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savage River Hotel Frostburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing