We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than expected!”
Review of Savage River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savage River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Frostburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had one experience prior to this trip to Savage River Lodge for a father and son fly fishing outting. While we had a fantastic time we barely spent any time at the lodge or our cabin for that matter. In our limited experience I remembered being very impressed with the professionalism of the staff and the charm/peacefulness of the cabins. Just this past week my wife and I booked a 3 day 2 night anniversary getaway. From the time we arrived we were just blown away. This place is fantastic. From the attention to small details like a towel for our dog in the cabin, to the awesome recommendations on places to go in the area by the staff... we felt like royalty. As noted by another review, they folks at Savage River Lodge are incredibly attentive without being obtrusive. I HIGHLY recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 412 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our weekend was beautiful from start to finish. We arrived to find a bottle of bubbly in our cabin 6, since we were celebrating an anniversary. The staff was incredibly attentive but not obtrusive.
The king sized bed was incredibly comfortable. We were glad we made it before the heating stove/fire was turned off (mid-may), because it was incredibly cozy and romantic in the cabin.
Our dog loved the biscuit every morning. She also loved the trails. We hiked the green trail on our first day, then most of the outer loop on our last (orange to red). The surrounding forest is worth exploring, especially the areas around mud lick and the savage river.
We had dinner in the lodge one night. Food was yummy. The dishes were more "current" and seasonal than I remember from my last visit. We also appreciated the vegetarian options, though we are not strict vegetarians.
We spent Saturday exploring the area around deep creek. We tasted cheese and picked up some panini at Firefly farms in Accident. We took our sandwiches to swallow falls (don't skip muddy falls, it is spectacular!). We tried to hike at Garrett state park and around Herrington lake, but so many trees are still down from hurricane sandy. Our successful hikes were busy trails (swallow falls) or xcountry ski trails (Herrington manor state park).
We will visit again. It is a wonderful spot for a quiet retreat!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyattearp220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing weekend here as we await the arrival of our first baby! We hiked on the well maintained trails, ate a delicious meal in the lodge restaurant, and relaxed in our gorgeous secluded cabin. It was a terrific weekend, exactly the peaceful experience we were looking for. Every detail is taken care of and the owners take great pride in their commitment to caring for the environment. We definitely want to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MHutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Everything about our visit to Savage River was perfect. We were there for three days to celebrate our five year anniversary and bike the Great Allegheny Passage with their 50/40/30 package. From the moment we checked in, until Britian dropped us off at the trail for our last ride, we were in great hands. The staff will know your names, and surprisingly for these two introverts, you'll quickly get to know theirs. How they manage to keep up with the plans and preferences of all their guests is beyond me, but they do.

We ate at the bar our first night, which gave us a chance to soak in the lodge atmosphere and chat up some veteran guests for good advice. Everyone, staff and guests alike, made us feel entirely welcome and at home. Our cabin, when we finally made it back there, was warm and spacious. We LOVED the loft. That first night's sleep may have been the best we've had in years.

Our bike adventure started with picnic basket breakfasts delivered to our cabin door, everything fresh and delicious, and continued with shuttles to the trail. We were lucky enough to have Mike drive us himself the first two days, and we grilled him for all kinds of inside information. He was a wealth of useful knowledge, and we enjoyed the conversation very much. We got back to our cabin after our first day of riding to find a growler of beer and chocolate truffles waiting for us. Perfect!

We ate in the lodge after biking and the service was second only to the amazing food. The servers hit just the right balance of attentiveness without crowding us, and easily accommodated special requests. The peanut butter pie was as good as everyone promised (which is saying something).

We could go on and on, but really it boils down to the fact that Savage River Lodge is the epitome of what a weekend away should be. We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLsPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just returned from a long, 24th anniversary weekend at the Savage River Lodge. We are two busy business people from the DC area, and were looking for the perfect combination location, not to far away. Perfect combination would be great outdoor retreat for my fishing/camping loving husband and quiet luxury for me (I needed many naps after coming off weeks of business travel/stress and spring allergies keep me indoors). Our beloved 12 year old dog also needed to be accommodated. The Savage Rive Lodge fit the bill - rustic, peaceful surroundings, fly fishing heaven, a Select Registry property, and dog friendly. It was an easy decision.

I can't say we were knocked off our feet (we've been lucky to stay at some incredibly resorts, but SRL wouldn't rank in the top 10). Don't get me wrong, it's lovely, but....driving up to the lodge building was underwhelming. The parking lot doesn't make the best impression. It may have been because we came right at the end of their busy fall/winter season, but the cabin exteriors looked worn - the decks/rocking chairs need a good cleaning and stain/paint (mildew) and the roofs looked tattered and littered with branches and leaves. We stayed in a premium cabin, but it had only a queen bed. I thought that was all they cabins had until we were told at dinner our last night some cabin have kings. These details just left us a bit underwhelmed.

On the positive side, the cabin interiors are spacious, clean and very comfortable for two people. The sitting room furniture is comfy, and the dining space by the fireplace is nice for dining in- cabin. The bathroom is nicely appointed and large. The sleeping loft is heavenly - for my napping, the cabin stayed dark and quiet - perfect. My husband loved his fishing adventures, as did our dog. She also loved lounging on the cabin porch, waiting for room service!

Room service to a cabin is fantastic - mostly when the food is such great quality. The morning muffins are delicious (and we're told the doggie biscuit is as well). We had dinner two nights in the cabin, and it arrived beautifully presented, hot and fantastic. The service staff is stellar. Our last night, we ate at the bar in the lodge. We were one of two dining parties - it was nice to have such great food/service without the hubub of suburban eateries.

The lodge building, though we didn't spend too much time there, is nicely appointed and charming. The back deck would be a spectacular spot for fall foliage enjoyment.

We will come back - because it is close and provides a getaway with options for us all. This time, we'd try early in the fall season to see if we get more of a "WOW" feeling.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbgvluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My dog and I stayed here recently while visiting my son at his nearby college. It is an eco-conscious lodge surrounded by forest. Charming luxury cabins and gourmet meals are available for you and your dog. It is truly dog-friendly. They provide water and food bowels and special towels for cleaning muddy paws. Breakfast for you and a treat for your pet are delivered to your cabin every morning. You can order gourmet doggie meals at the lodge. Dogs are welcome everywhere on the property except inside the lodge. The meals for humans will appeal to foodies. They have the best food for miles. There are no TVs or internet connection in the cabins, but for me that adds to the charm -- no pressure to check in with civilization. The staff is friendly and helpful. Because of the weather I didn't check out the hiking trails, but plan to on my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnNo_Potomac_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you like buildings constructed of real logs, this place is for you! The lodge and cabins are beautiful and comfortable.
We stayed in Cabin 1. Very private, located in the pine forest. Comfortable bed with really nice sheets. Only thing lacking is a microwave to warm up the morning muffins provided with the great orange juice.
Beautiful lodge with a great fireplace. Restaurant serves great food with attentive service.
Lots of great scenery & hiking trails.
Its location puts it within a half-day's drive from the east coast metropolis & DC, so the prices reflect the ability of the customers to pay.

Room Tip: Cabins 1, 2 & 3 have the most privacy and upgraded linens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhall854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
5 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
89 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
500 reviews
5.3 mi away
Allegheny Trail House B&B
Allegheny Trail House B&B
#2 of 3 in Frostburg
20 reviews
19.1 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savage River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savage River Lodge

Address: 1600 Mount Aetna Rd, Frostburg, MD 21532-3817
Location: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frostburg
Price Range: $262 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort - Privacy - Relaxation. We often hear these words when people talk about the Savage River Lodge. Nestled within more than 700 acres of Western Maryland's Savage River State Forest, the lodge is a peaceful retreat from a busy world. Once you're here, you'll find all the elements of relaxation and comfort--fantastic food, sink-into accommodations, your own private cabin, and exceptional hospitality. Whether you prefer to watch nature from your rocking chair or spend your day in pursuit of your favorite outdoor activity, you'll take home the spirit of the forest...and the Savage River Lodge. Our eighteen luxury cabins and the nearby lodge building, surrounded by the forest, convey a rustic, lived-in comfort. Our amenities and appointments, however are decidedly upscale and infused with a genuinely friendly and relaxed hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Savage River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savage River Hotel Frostburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing