We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Savage River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charlie's Motel(Frostburg)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$54
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gunter Hotel(Frostburg)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
279
88
29
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
279
88
29
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssavage riverhiking trailsjuicemeatloafget awayeach morningpicnic basketgas fireplaceheated floorsfly fishingwheel drivestate forestgift shopdog biscuitsrelaxing weekendpeace and quietcross country skiing
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 422 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I were looking to run away from the craziness in our lives and found exactly what we were looking for here. After much research we knew we would find what we were looking for here. We stayed in a premiere cabin. We were celebrating our Anniversary and were greating with a lovely bottle of Champagne! LOVED LOVED LOVED the morning muffins! Enjoyed hiking in the woods and watching the wildlife all around us. We had dinner brought to our cabin our second night. It was so good! Since we were aware that TV was not an option we brought my laptop to watch some movies that we we really wanted to see but had not had the time to sit down or go to the movies to see them. We also brought a little radio to listen to as well. My 12 year old is hoping we go back again soon and take her with us!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleHolmes73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

SRL is a real find so I'm reluctant to share my love of this place, for fear it will become too popular! The cabins are well appointed with luxurious sheets and breakfast muffins and OJ are delivered each morning with the Washington Post. There are miles of trails right outside the cabin doors, great for hiking, snow shoeing or cross country skiing. The restaurant serves an interesting variety of entrees and has a very decent wine list. Finally, the staff and owners are very pleasant and go out of their way for their guests!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Savage River Lodge is a beautiful, earthy and comfortable place to stay. It offers a quiet and relaxing retreat from the busy world and the unique experience of staying in private cabins.

We look for to our next visit and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginasilvertree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have been to Savage River Lodge many many times. We normally bring our golden who loves this place as much as we do. It's been a while since we have been there and were just saying how we have to get Mitzy to the cabin as she is getting old. We love hiking in the woods, geocaching and once a while back we biked the Great Allegheny Passage. We love the light breakfast of muffins and fresh OJ and when we bring our dog she gets her fav doggie biscuit. The beds are very comfortable as is the couch in the living area. While I love the soaking tub, I think some of the cabins tubs are due for an upgrade. The restraunt was always good, but hopefully when we go back they will have some new entres. We are ready to try something new. The staff is always first class. This is an expensive place, especially if you bring your dog and an extra person ($75.00 a night was the going rate for a dog I see its been lowered to $30 Thats great! and at the time we were there last it was $75.00 for our 21 year old for them to make up the sleeper couch and the extra food for breakfast) Not sure if the extra person rate as been lowered as well but I think that would be a good idea as well since it really packed on the $$ to bring our dog and 21 year old. But we miss it and hope to get there soon! Mike and Jan are great people with great ideas and this place holds some very fond memories of fun and relaxation.

Room Tip: We love cabins 10, 11 & 12
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

For our seven year anniversary we stayed in one of the cabins that has the porch forest view. Totally recommend the ones that have more privacy, we tried to get the upgraded cabins but they were booked. We had two nights of absolute relaxation. No t.v., no internet, and barely any cell phone service, but that didn't matter because we read books, took walks, went fishing, worked on a puzzle, and just sat on the porch talking. It also rained both days and that didn't even matter to us. No A.C just box fans, and that was fine too. We also brought our dog and she had a great time. They are very dog friendly, just be sure to put the extra sheet they supply on the couch (if your dog jumps on the couch) if they find fur they will charge extra. Bedding, bath, living room everything I can think of was very clean and comfortable. I can't wait to come back in the fall when the leaves are changing.

We ate one breakfast and two dinners at the restaurant onsite. I will have to knock off a star for their restaurant. I really like the fact that they use local farm items, however it's really expensive and small portion sizes. Also driving to another place is inconvenient because the road to get out of the place will take you at least 10 minutes. Their restaurant service, check-in/out service is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book the forest view or the premier cabins.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westraka23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews