We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful retreat into nature”
Review of Savage River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savage River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Frostburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dundalk, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful retreat into nature”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our first time and we will be back! We went based on the recommendation of a friend. There is no false advertising on this site or their website. It really is in the middle of a state park with hiking trails and nature all around. We saw deer everyday. We sat on our front porch, rocking peacefully, admiring the view of nature and listening to the wind in the trees. So incredibly peaceful. We hiked each day and took a trip to see the Frank Lloyd Wright homes (a fun trip - especially with the lunch packed by the Lodge). Cannot say enough about how the cabins and surroundings are peaceful and relaxing. The staff was very helpful and friendly. You are left alone as much as needed. Would recommend.

Room Tip: All cabins are the same and face the same direction. Some are more secluded than others. We liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_from_Dundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    77
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
36
277
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Have faith in your GPS -- down a mostly dirt road for nearly two miles is a very nice "lodge" surrounded by 18 cabins. The property is in the middle of a forest reserve -- lots of trees (mostly secondary growth) and wildlife -- deer everywhere. Surrounding the property are miles of cross-country ski trails that (in June) serve as hiking/walking paths -- all clearly marked, easy to traverse. Very pleasant.

We reserved an upgraded cabin for three nights. The cabin was comfortable and very roomy for 2 -- a sitting room/living room, small kitchen area, and a loft for sleeping. The bathroom is modern. (Unfortunately, so is the fireplace -- gas driven instead of real logs.) No TV, radio, WiFi. And private. (The cabins, arranged in a line rather than "bunched", are a 5 minute walk from the lodge. Our cabin faced the woods and a trail about 50 meters away from the front porch.)

The Lodge is where all the action is -- a full bar, wood-burning fireplace, restaurant, gift shop, and (for me) the all important WiFi. The restaurant was somewhat inconsistent -- the first night's dinner was excellent and, however casual the atmosphere, could easily rival a good fine dining experience anywhere. The second night had the same menu but the meal was delivered as if it were prepared by a different chef -- the soup was cool, the meat was underdone, the fish dry and overcooked, the food somehow "mushy." One-for-two.

Staff was terrific -- from the servers to the front desk -- all were relaxed, friendly, and eager to please. Couldn't be more welcoming.

My only real complaint was that there is no room service of any kind (bed-making, garbage pick-up, etc.) unless asked for. Given that we were always up and about early, and forgetful, we lived with our detritus for the three days. While the stated rationale for the "on request" policy was to preserve our privacy, there are some things that this creature of habit expects as automatic.

Would I return? Perhaps in winter for a cross-country skiing experience or for a family reunion. As a place to stay near the University at Frostburg -- our daily destination, it was ideal.

Room Tip: Not clear how the "upgraded cabins" differ from the others -- from outside appearances, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Savage River Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Savage River Lodge. We truly appreciate your feedback! We apologize for the inconsistency with your meal. We do have an entirely new kitchen staff and I will pass your comments along to our Executive Chef.

Next time you visit (winter is truly a wonder here), please just ask for freshening service daily and your preferred time. We do like to give our guests peace and quiet while they're here. In addition to the privacy aspect, it is also one of our eco-friendly practices to only freshen upon request, thus reducing our negative impact on the earth.

Once again, thank you for your comments.
Jan Russell
/Co-Owner, Savage River Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We've gone to Savage River Lodge three times and plan future visits. It is truly a place to unwind, unplug (electronics!), slow down, and rejuvinate. The scenery is beautiful, and it is a great place to visit all year round. From the snow-shoeing and cross-country skiing in the winter to the hikes the rest of the year, our time there has always been wonderful. We also enjoy the opportunities to read and relax by the gas fire. The restaurant is oustanding, and they do a wonderful job providing gluten free options. In fact, they offer a gluten free menu with a variety of tasty options! They are also pet friendly and always treat our goldendoodle extremely well. She particularly enjoys the doggy biscuits delivered each morning in our breakfast basket! The only caution we give is the overall cost of both accomodations and food. We save by bringing our own lunches. The in-cabin refrigerator makes this easy, but there are no microwaves. There are also no nearby food/take-away options, so you are reliant on the restaurant. However, we continue to go back and thoroughly enjoy ourselves. We've highly recommended this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

I am a connected person. This wonderful inn makes you disconnect. No cell, no wifi except at the main lodge, no TV either. At first it made me anxious and then I went to dinner sat back and relaxed. The place is beautiful, quiet and just what I needed after a tough week.

We settled down and made use of the fireplace and read and enjoyed each other. Perfect place for a quick stop, good food, simple lodging. One word of caution, the drive is steep do not be afraid! There is good stuff at the end of the road. Staff is terrific.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seissler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I were in need of a break from everyday life and wanted to get away from it all. We wanted to be able to spend some time with nature and relax without sleeping on the ground, and our choice to stay at SRL was perfect! We were in a cabin facing the woods (cabin 17) and, while the neighboring cabins were a little close, we felt like we had plenty of privacy. We really enjoyed just sitting on the porch and reading. Inside the cabins were very cozy with a cute little fireplace, generous loft space, and a comfortable bed. The bathrooms were large but the shower/bathtub left us wanting, but hey we were in the middle of the woods and everything else in the cabin was great.

As for activities, there were many hiking options right on the property and my husband spent a day fly fishing nearby. The staff had a number of other activities that they could help you plan as well.

The only reason this is a 4 star rating and not a 5 is because of price considerations. While we knew what we were paying, considering the high cost of the cabins along with the fact that you have to eat at the property unless you are going to venture 20-30min in search of other food options, we thought you didn't get a lot of bang for your buck. You could easily spend anywhere between $60-upwards of $100 on a dinner here, which can add up quickly if you are staying multiple nights and eating multiple meals. It might be nice to actually have a breakfast included with the cabin rental rather than just the muffins (great muffins though!). With that said, the food was very good and we really enjoyed our stay so I would still highly recommend SRL. Thank you for a great stay and we hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Definitely get a cabin facing the woods if you are going to spend time on the porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was our second stay at the Savage River Lodge and it was just as fabulous as our first trip over the Christmas Holiday in 2010. The drive through the mountains is beautiful and the lodge is a warm and welcoming spot after the hustle and bustle of Washington, DC. The staff is wonderful and the porch was open for drinks and dinner - incredible view! We did some hiking both on the trails right outside our door as well as the Great Allegheny Passage, just a short drive away. Of course our cabin was cozy and we appreciated the luxurious robes and linens as well as the refrigerator. This time we brought a CD player so we could enjoy music with our morning paper and breakfast treats. It was hard to leave but we brought home some souvenirs from the gift shop. This is one of the most wonderful places we have found for a romantic and fun getaway.

Room Tip: Choose # 10 or 11 for privacy and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 350shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed at Savage River Lodge while biking the GAP TRail. They are not near the trail, but shuttled us from and to the trailhead when we wanted (for $40). The Lodge was beautiful as were the cabins. Our cabin had a King bed upstairs, with a large living area and bathroom downstairs. It was delightful.

We did some hiking on their extensive wooded trails, and rested on the porch overlooking the forest. Dinner was excellent, with an extensive vegetarian section to the menu. The mushroom stroganoff was a treat, as were our innovative salads.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RwithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
5.0 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Frostburg
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savage River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savage River Lodge

Property: Savage River Lodge
Address: 1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532-3817
Location: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frostburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort - Privacy - Relaxation. We often hear these words when people talk about the Savage River Lodge. Nestled within more than 700 acres of Western Maryland's Savage River State Forest, the lodge is a peaceful retreat from a busy world. Once you're here, you'll find all the elements of relaxation and comfort--fantastic food, sink-into accommodations, your own private cabin, and exceptional hospitality. Whether you prefer to watch nature from your rocking chair or spend your day in pursuit of your favorite outdoor activity, you'll take home the spirit of the forest...and the Savage River Lodge. Our eighteen luxury cabins and the nearby lodge building, surrounded by the forest, convey a rustic, lived-in comfort. Our amenities and appointments, however are decidedly upscale and infused with a genuinely friendly and relaxed hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Savage River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savage River Hotel Frostburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing