We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trail Inn and Cafe
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gunter Hotel(Frostburg)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charlie's Motel(Frostburg)(Great Value!)
$60
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
8
12
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
12
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe gapwould stay here againjohncumberlandshowertrailmilescamping
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 27 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here on July 2, 2013 and were told breakfast would be at 8:30 AM. We delayed out departure time so we could eat. As of 9:30 the cook had not arrived and we had to leave. The owner said he would reimburse us $10 for our two breakfasts – guess we didn’t miss much!! We have yet to see the $10 reimbursement.

FYI – the room was barely large enough for the queen size bed – but we accepted it upon check-in – when we thought we would be getting breakfast in the morning

Room Tip: Find a different place to stay.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our group had sandwiches at the cafe during the turn-around time for the train. You order at the counter then the food is delivered to the table. The food was good and service was prompt and courteous. The dining area is plain with some interesting historical pictures on the wall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a nice place to stay. The room was clean. It is not your typical hotel. We stayed 3 nights and they do not have house keeping during the time you are there. However I do think if you request it they will do it. There is no front desk. You have to call a number to get checked in. The owner lives 5 minutes away. None of this was a problem for us. We enjoyed the experience.

It is a great location. The cafe was awesome. The new owner,Sherry, as of Feb. 2013 is the friendliest and most accommodating person you will ever meet. She is a great cook. Her staff is also wonderful. The inn and cafe is definitely worth checking out .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Rode the Western Maryland Scenic Train up from Cumberland and ate lunch here. The chicken sandwich was really tasty; all white meat breast. Good food and very friendly people. Great view. The fried chicken looked really good, but I was going on a bike ride and didn’t want to overdo it. Outside is a little shack that also takes orders and has ice cream. Nice little place in Frostburg right next to the Train Depot. The Great Allegheny Passage is just down the hill...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Kind of a funky place with college kids working but we enjoyed our time here very much.
Paid about $75 a night for three nights in September. Smallish rooms, an invigorating walk up the hill to downtown, which was very enjoyable. The trail is excellent both directions. I would stay here again and explore Cumberland and the area a bit more.

Room Tip: We stayed at the point at the stairs that made a little corner in the tight parking lot so we could lock the bikes to the rail. They may have a place too park bikes, I don't know. I would stay here again.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews