We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tyntesfield at Christmas”
Review of Tyntesfield

Tyntesfield
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Wraxall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2014

I have now visited Tyntesfield at Christmas three times. It never disappoints as the decorations have a different style each year and there is always something different and of interest to see. In fact the visit is now a fundamental part of my pre Christmas traditions. I would particularly like to congratulate the volunteers who were dressed in Victorian costume and struck just the right balance of engaging with the visitors without overloading them with information. Their own pleasure, interest and delight in their surroundings was infectious.
We were lucky to visit on a bright, sunny day and in fact enjoyed a Christmas dinner in the cow barn and a cream tea later in the afternoon outside on the lawn!

Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyntesfield_NT, Guest Relations Manager at Tyntesfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014

Hello Mary b and thank you so much for coming to see us again, this Christmas. We are trying each year to find the right balance between tradition, decoration and access to the house, as well as garden, at this festive time of the year. We are not quite there yet with what we wnat to achieve but your kind words help us to know we are on the right track.
We look forward to welcoming you again next year and have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year from everyone here at Tyntesfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"national trust"
in 270 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 106 reviews
"gibbs family"
in 58 reviews
"rose garden"
in 43 reviews
"courtesy bus"
in 33 reviews
"cow barn"
in 51 reviews
"fire alarm"
in 24 reviews
"pavilion cafe"
in 19 reviews
"timed tickets"
in 23 reviews
"nt property"
in 51 reviews
"nt members"
in 37 reviews
"victorian christmas"
in 29 reviews
"gothic house"
in 27 reviews
"house tour"
in 16 reviews
"extensive grounds"
in 24 reviews
"room guides"
in 33 reviews
"grounds are lovely"
in 19 reviews
Filter

902 - 906 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2014

Visited on Friday 6th December.Well worth the visit,very enjoyable.The house was decorated lovely and the room ushers looked wonderful in the lovely victorian dress.Very nostalgic and it captured wonderfully how this old country house would have looked in the victorian era.
Nice cafe/restaurant where we had a warm drink and snack after walking the estate
Well worth the visit and as we are National Trust members, never cost us the entrance fee.
Membership is very worthwhile,gives you the freedom to visit as often as you like

Thank megan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyntesfield_NT, Guest Relations Manager at Tyntesfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014

Hi megan j and thanks so much for letting us know about your visit to us on Friday.
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your day with us and our festive decorations, costumes and refreshments.
We hope we can welcome you back in 2015.
A very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year from everyone at Tyntesfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2014

Bravo the National Trust! Such a period piece and so good it has been preserved. The house is - well just Victorian if you like that sort of thing but the setting is magnificent with gardens and parkland. Good place to eat too. Sorry - I didn't mean to be horrid about Victorian country houses but it is what it is and a fine example - just doesn't make your heart sing

Thank RobininBRISTOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyntesfield_NT, Guest Relations Manager at Tyntesfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014

Hello RobininBRISTOL and thanks for telling us about your day here at Tyntesfield. Victorian is not to everyones taste but we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you'll be able to pop back and explore the wider estate very soon.
Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2014

I visited Tyntesfield on a hot summer's day and thoroughly enjoyed walking through the well-kept gardens, especially the walled vegetable garden. On walking up to the house I was impressed by the gothic revival style and found it interesting to see how the property has evolved over time.

What made Tyntesfield stand out from other National Trust properties for me was the strong sense of how the character of the house was shaped by the family who lived in it. The collections of artefacts, although often featuring mundane objects such as the toasters in the kitchen, help to illustrate the changing times lived though by the four generations of the Gibbs family. I did however feel that the collections of objects on the top floor were disorganised and the sheer volume of items began to feel overwhelming.

I finished the day with lovely tea and scones in the café.

Thank PebbleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyntesfield_NT, Guest Relations Manager at Tyntesfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2014

Hello PebbleL and thanks for telling everyone about your day with us. Great to hear you liked what you saw, smelt and tasted and hope you'll be back to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2014

Tyntesfield is a magnificent country house set in beautiful gardens. There are several buildings to view including the house, gardens, stables, industrial facilities and greenhouses, not to mention the cafes and other tourist information buildings. There was a special event of Queen Victoria inspecting troops during our visit, including shooting displays, which was particularly excellent. The gardens are very well kept and the ground floor of the house, including the chapel, is very interesting. However, the top floor of the house was disappointing as many rooms appeared to have been used as dumping grounds - no doubt this indicated that the attraction was in a state of development, but it rather spoilt the atmosphere after seeing such lovely parts. Nonetheless, an excellent day out for the family.

Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyntesfield_NT, Guest Relations Manager at Tyntesfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2014

Hello Jonathan A. Thanks for taking the time to review your day. Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us including seeing Queen Victoria. The first floor of the house is indeed a both a work in progress and left intentionally much as the National Trust found the house back in 2002.
We have lots more exciting things planned next year so we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyntesfield also viewed

 

Been to Tyntesfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing