We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simplicity at its finest”
Review of Yough Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yough Valley Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Friendsville
Reviewed July 7, 2012

the car broke down just off exit 4 and the people where so nice they offered us help and when our car could not be fixed they showed us the best place to stay (yough valley motel) the lady was so courtious she heald our room for us, and when we got the bad news that the car could not be fixed she gave us the room for 100.00 and the room was so quaint but perfect i really plan on going back but this time under better circumstances. THANKS YOUGH VALLEY MOTEL and see you this week

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyrone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

I'm glad we could be there for you. Do come and see us again, you haven't seen all the beauty that Garrett County has to offer. Thank you, Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 30 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

we loved the porch and the room was clean enough.no bugs.best part was we could have our dog.was the only reason we stayed.lots of privacy.like the feel of the night.however; bed was crappola hard .and shower was out of hand concerning temperature control. people are nice but they wonder why kayakers only use freindsville as a take out for the river and they eat and motel elswhere? well here is why; Freindsville and motels like this one are older and less classy looking as well as the bed and shower. food? scared to eat it.that is; if they are awake and working at 6 or 7 am. frendsville sleeps in...freindsville needs to realize that kayakers and mountain bikers sleep on $3000 memory foam beds, and have showers with consistant temperature and flow. like us from chicagoland we have the best food in the world.so excellence is not an option with us. we reject and avoid the mediocrote and poverty of Freindsville. deep creek on the other hand is excellent. freindsville needs hospitality and prosperity lessons from deep creek.i do feel sorry for friendsville.they are nice. but they are stuck as i know this motel cant aforrd 20 grand worth of new beds and plumbing.never the less freinds villes potential customers have money which means freindsville needs to up its standards to attract business.,,after all my dog eli checked into nemicolin pet resort and as treated like a king for $25.....

Room Tip: book somewhere in deep creek or 7 springs well in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

When we were looking for a place to stay for our weekend trip to Western, MD, we noticed that many places don't allow dogs, and those that do were pricey. This one was different. They welcomed us with our dogs, and was within our price range. The rooms were clean, and had everything we needed. Plus, after a long day of driving and hiking in the area, it was nice to be able to walk to the Sugar Shack to grab a bite to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you Angela for taking the time to review our motel. I believe having these honest reviews are key to our business. How can we help on the sleeping conditions? We hope to see you and your family again, when you visit our area. Tina Glotfelty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Will definitely come back next time we are in the deep creek area to ski. Thanks for the fine hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaLouLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you for your honest review. We look forward to serving you when you visit the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

If you want a place that is warm , friendly , comfortable with all the necessary things to have , here is the place . Owners are wonderful people , the town is quaint , rustic , and quiet . The scenery is to die for as well . I have stayed here 3 times now , Comfort , Red Roof , Holiday Inn , they have nothing to offer that Yough Valley Motel doesn't , especially the feeling of friendship and care . Tina and Jeff got it going on here folks , I highly recommend Yough Valley Motel to all staying in this area.

Room Tip: Any room here is a good room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueyedmeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Thank you for your heartfelt review of our motel. We take great pride in offering a comfortable, clean room that welcomes everyone back time and again. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Older 2 story motel without the fancy tv or stale pastrybreakfast but very clean with comfortable beds, strong hot shower, and in room coffee. great value. Stayed here on our way to Morgantown and was very pleased with the experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parispartyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are constantly improving as our pocketbooks allow. We believe that a clean room outweighs fancy furniture and fancy prices, anyday !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Could not ask for more. Free wifi fridge and microwave. Comfortable, clean and reasonable, what more could I want? I forgot my power cord to my laptop and Tina mailed it back to me right away

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendsville
8.2 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
6.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
13.6 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
113 reviews
12.0 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
303 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oakland Motel
Oakland Motel
#3 of 3 in Oakland
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yough Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yough Valley Motel

Address: 138 Walnut St, Po Box 123, Friendsville, MD 21531-2136
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Friendsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Friendsville
Price Range: $71 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet-friendly 11 room motel with microwaves,refrigerators,coffee pots, free wi-fi, cable-tv with 150 channels, and heat/ac. Our motel is American owned and operated, as well as family owned and operated.We provide clean,quiet comfortable rooms for a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Yough Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing