We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best resort on the East coast”

Rocky Gap Golf Course
Attraction details
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best resort on the East coast”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This resort has it all. Its everything you would like to have in a resort. It has outside activities like a beautiful lake you can take the kids to. The place have nice people their to help you if you need anything. I took the elevator down stairs and went into the lounge were i met one of the managers. He took the time and took me around to different places. Rovky Gap is brand new. I am glad to be a new customer to. I advise everyone to go to Rocky Gap. Its not expensive, and you can WIN.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobbie425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, VA
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Fun day on challenging course”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I booked this course before coming here using an online discounter. Weather forecast was iffy, so the friendly pro let us change our tee time to beat the rain. Because of heavy rain the night before, it was cart paths only, which always makes it a little more difficult to play. The fairways were suffering badly from some kind of fungus or turf disease, with many bare spots.
The starter put us on #10 to start; we had a hard time finding the 10th tee from the range, and also had problems finding #1 from the 18th green. More signs are definitely needed!
Fairways were generally narrow, and some greens quite small. All greens were in very good shape, except for many unrepaired ballmarks. All holes are within sight or earshot of the nearby interstate, but that's not distracting.
The back 9 is quite open and flat; the front 9 hilly, with some beautiful views. There are many pretty natural areas alongside the fairways.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Challenging Course”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This course is very challenging as the first 9 nine holes go up into the mountain where the second nine holes come down to the lake. During our stay, many of the fairways were not in the best of shape but overall the course was good. Very friendly and helpful staff at the course.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MySable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Jack Nicholas didn't scare us!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Challenging course, beautiful views, but my guy licked the back nine handily! Service was great at the clubhouse, the turn and the girls on the carts were visible and had a good selection. They even went back and got us bug spray, upon request ;)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pitsbrgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

One of Jack's GEMS!! Condition was excellent and very playable for the wife too(h/cap13) We arrived early for our tee time and the starter advised that there was a practice range and ball at our disposal.That was a treat. 2 rounds played with loads of memorable shots and a few beers later, made this a really worthwhile detour on our trip. If you have the time, make the effort.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SellyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Gap Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Rocky Gap Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing