We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for people who like to Party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for people who like to Party”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We came here for a wedding last weekend and it was a beautiful place to visit. Lots of Mountainbiking, Swimming and activities for people of all ages. Now for what I didnt like... I am 31 years old and visited with about 150 ppl for the wedding. They cut off the wedding party after it was over and said that they were not allowed to serve us anymore, even at the bar downstairs which was not affiliated with the wedding upstairs. They said because the wedding bar was open for 6 hours upstairs that they couldnt serve us anymore at the regular bar downstairs. We said fine, we will just buy alcohol and take it out by the lake. They said they wouldnt sell us anything. Okay, so we were going to take a taxi into town and buy it ourselves and bring it back. Mind you, this was at 10pm. They said that they would confiscate the alcohol because we didnt buy it there (which they would not sell us anyway). I must confess we are a large group of 25-40 year olds who like to drink and party. But we were not to drunk to continue the party.

Go here if you want to enjoy the lake and mountain bike. It was a beautiful setting and was nesteled in between the mountains.

The Golf course was nice too. Not 80 bucks a round nice, but nice.

Bottom line, dont book a wedding here if you like to party and have a good time. The atmosphere does not support it. It is way more family oriented than party oriented. The bars shut down at midnight also.
I didnt think that it was worth 215 dollars a night either. Nothing special about the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moopswvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    436
    148
    62
    60
See reviews for
250
588
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Nice location, beautiful view of lake. Wake-up calls very dependable. Rooms very comfortable. Friendly bar staff at the pro shop. Would stay there anytime. Internet at reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tlc141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed here valentines evening. Check in was quick and friendly. The hotel is pretty when you drive up and walk in. The views and location are very pretty. Beyond the foyer the hotel is like a 10 year old holiday inn. Definitely not a four diamond resort. The room was neat and tidy, the bed was comfortable. The bathrooms and rooms are outdated decor wise. The bathroom was quite small. Our "golf view" room had a view of the road and a parking lot. We did not eat at the hotel as previous reviews had advised against it. We did walk through the dining rooms though and the decor was outdated and inexpensive looking. We walked through the spa and it was cluttered and outdated. The exercise room was collection of four machines in a small room. The pool was neat, especially the outdoor pool overlooks the lake. They did have a board of activities listed in the foyer which was nice, especially for families with kids. There were a lot of kids and I would say the hotel seemed very kid friendly. Essentially, if you are stopping through and need a place to stay I would recommend this place. If you are looking for a nice resort get-away, this is not the place.

  • Liked — pretty views
  • Disliked — outdated
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank b304z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

I took my boyfriend here to try something other than going to the beach and we had a great time. It's quiet and relaxing and there are plenty of activities for those who like the great outdoors. We had a golf course view room which was fine since most of our time was spent outside. The restaurant has breathtaking views but the food was average. It would definitely be a great place for families with young kids (didn't see alot of teens) or couples. We booked a guided bass tour which was very nice but expensive and in 4 hours we only caught 1 fish. Next time we'll rent the rods and fish from the pier. We are planning to go back in the fall and take the kids.

  • Liked — The views and peacefulness
  • Disliked — Rooms and food were average.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Spent 3 days at a conference. The property, staff & food service exceeded my expectations...the location is BEAUTIFUL!

There are always opportunities for improvement - a few suggestions:

(1) My room (620) has different florescent bulbs in the bathroom fixture (soft white & bright white) - Be consistent...it matters.
(2) There were no visible recycling bins in the bedrooms or public spaces...its a State Park!..it matters.
(3) Guests should be asked if they would like a morning newspaper left at their bedroom door - avoid unnecessary waste - consider asking the guest when they check in...it matters.
(4) A towel in the bathroom was frayed along the edges and torn.

I loved walking on the pathways around the hotel/resort and enjoyed discovering the Aviary.

Its a special place and look forward to returning with the family.

  • Liked — Location/venue
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2008

I just returned from a stay at the Rocky Gap Resort. My brother was getting married there so I experienced just about everything the Resort had to offer. The rooms were adequate and clean. Note that if you want maid service make sure to put the little tab on the door so they know. They missed me each day until I figured this out but our room was such a mess from the preparations that it was probably best. When I did see the maid in the hall she gladly gave me an armful of fresh towels when I asked and my Aunt said the maid was wonderful to her and very good about taking care of her.

The food was really good. I was honestly shocked as I did not expect it from a place like this. I am a cook and I plan lots of events and the food is never very impressive. While the beef at the reception was kind of off (chewy) that night, everything else was really fantastic. I even had Coconut Shrimp that did NOT taste like suntan lotion for the first time! :) They were also VERY good with the pours at the bar :) The rehersal dinner food was wonderful and this comments were from the women that taught ME how to cook! We did the BBQ ribs, chicken, salads, and corn muffins. The apple cobbler was like home made (I made an apple pie the week before we went and it was just as good!). I even liked their iced tea so much I kept ordering a big pitcher of it to carry around while we worked.

The event staff was VERY responsive and helpful. I plan events for work and would feel comfortable trusting them with a meeting or small conference.

I did not do much of the outdoor activities but my husband did take the girls out in a canoe, our friends jogged each morning. and we used the playground and took the girls to a craft class. The only "negetive" I heard back was that the jogging trail wasn't set up for a stroller/jogger so they couldn't take their kids with them...no problem though as we watched them for them.

All in all I was very pleasantly surprised at the level of service here and the quality of the food. I have worked with the Disney properties, Marriott, Westin and several of the large casino hotels in Vegas and I was just as pleased with Rocky Gap as with the others I have worked with! Great Job!

  • Liked — The fall leaves were gorgeous and the scenery was lovely.
  • Disliked — Really nothing negetive to say. Maybe that there were no airports close by.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonDCJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2008

I'm a little shocked at some of the negative comments about this resort. My husband and I just returned from the Rocky Gap Resort, we went for a quick get-away to celebrate our anniversary, and we just loved it. What a beautiful location and resort! The rooms were nice and clean, they were a decent size, the bathrooms were small, but that was ok. The hiking trails were nice, they have a small aviary on the property and you can go in and view all the birds, if you want to go off the property, they are within a few miles of great tourists sites.

The only negative: While the food was delicious, it was a bit over-priced and took a while to come out. You're better off going with the buffet to avoid the long wait, but the staff was very friendly, not rude like someone else indicated.

  • Liked — The setting/location
  • Disliked — restaurant serices
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flintstone
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.4 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
14.8 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
75 reviews
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Property: Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Address: 16701 Lakeview Rd NE, Flintstone, MD 21530-1059 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing