We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and nice Casino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and nice Casino”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a king bedroom in this updated lodge on the 5th floor overlooking the golf course (nice and quiet, even though the hotel was fully occupied) - I'd recommend the higher floors for the view. Lunch at Signatures gave us a great view of the lake - friendly service - food was OK. The breakfast buffet had lots of choices, but was just OK - best choice was create your own omelets. Casino is cozier than those in AC or Vegas, with 3 and 4 card poker, Pai Gao, , Blackjack and lots of slot machines (some with sense-chairs). Our only real complaint is how they configure the Texas Hold'em tables - one table is the "main" table, one is the 2nd table. Even though the 2nd table had open spaces, I had to wait for someone from the main table to move to the 2nd table (each player is asked, from the first player who came to the table to the last one, and this can lead to waits to enter from a few minutes to an hour. I'm not clear on why this practice is, but this rotation moved to my husband, playing at the main table for all of 10 minutes, who was asked to fill a spot on the 2nd table, then had to wait 20 min while they found a dealer for the 2nd table. Just a crazy practice. Also, due to the afternoon sun angle, a few of the Hold'em table spots are blinded by the sun, so needed to leave our play then as well.

Room Tip: High floors, and more expensive lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwinkleTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our Director of Gaming. I hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    436
    148
    62
    60
See reviews for
250
588
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The resort is located at the beautiful lake, great scenery. The resort facilities allow all family members to enjoy the trip. Many facilities for every age group.
Also, the casino is very nice as well. I was surprised the availibility of tha table games and slot machines.
If they had babysitting services, that would be even better...

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have great views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptrop620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for visiting Rocky Gap! I hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

All things considered this is a nice place to stay. The staff do not go out of their way, but I did not encounter any particular problems during my stay. The resort sits on a lake with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains. The rooms are spacious; modern; and comfortable. There is plenty of seating right next to the lake which is really nice and provides for hours of relaxation or just dipping your feet in the lake. You can rent boats right from the pier at the resort. Very nice indoor/outdoor pool (one of those pools where you can swim from inside to outside). I was traveling for work, but decided to take my family along. They liked the resort, but did not like the food at the LB's restaurant. I must agree that the food and service left a lot to be desired. Munchies the pub, pleased with good bar food and service.
I was not wowed, but all and all, I liked the place and would go back. We hit the casino, it was average as well, but had a good variety of slots for a small casino.

Room Tip: Definitely go with the lakeside view. . .beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AugusteTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We began visiting this resort approximately 1 year ago and it has done nothing but IMPROVE since that time. The casino is rather small (I would suggest enlarging it and adding different kinds of slots) but I feel very comfortable in it. I've looked over a number of other reviews of this resort on TripAdvisor and cannot for the life of me understand why anyone would criticize the FOOD - it is delicious - especially that which is on both the breakfast and dinner buffets - and, trust me, we've eaten at a lot of buffets - even in Vegas - this buffet compares well with all of them. The rooms are normally clean, comfortable, and larger than the norm. But, without a doubt, the most outstanding part of our stays at this resort is the staff - they are helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and super. From the valet "parkers" to the wait staff in the restaurants, to the Front Desk, you cannot beat them in any hotel/casino that I've be in. I have had only one negative experience and I solved that issue by simply not tipping that member of the staff - issue taken care of - and he understood exactly why I did it! These people absolutely go out of their way to make your stay exemplary!

Room Tip: It could just be my imagination, but the rooms with a golf course view seem to be a bit larger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our resort and staff! I hope you will continue to visit Rocky Gap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Enjoyable all around, Great staff. Drinks are a little pricey!! Rooms clean and perpared by a friendly staff. Gambling staff were always around if you had a question. Waitress were friendly and and fast. It is close a lot better then driving 4-5 hours Enjoyed!!

Room Tip: LAKE SIDE VIEW are a nice setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel itself is nice, rooms comfortable the gambling areas aren't smokey and the surrounding grounds provide a lot of activities. However, for the cost of a nights stay at about $300 the food was atrocious. At the buffet they had mashed potatoes but no gravy. The mashed potatoes were worse than flake potatoes looks like they forgot the cream, very watery. The other options were very limited when compared to similar resorts. We ate our second meal at the bar and we both had burgers those were much better. However, from the somments I heard at the counter when checking in the condemnation of the buffet was pretty much universal. The hotel physical plant and grounds are a 4 but with the food issues and cost it drops to a 3.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscentralIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience at Rocky Gap. Please contact us at info@rockygapcasino.com, so we may address your concerns on a more personal level. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Decided the last minute to get away. Remembered something I had read about a casino resort near Cumberland Maryland. Did some quick research on line and found this resort and booked a room. We like to golf and then have something to do in the evenings. What a fantastic fine. This place was everything we look for and so much more. Clean, friendly staff and loads of stuff to do. Swimming, fishing, hiking, casino and of course the golf course. Forgot to mention you can even rent bikes. The scenery was breath taking. Sat on the lounge chairs in the evening to watch the sun set over the mountains and had our morning coffee sitting on the edge of the lake watching the sun rise over the mountains. Wow. Great choice of restaurants to choose from. Easy drive from Cleveland!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajd975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I am so glad you "found" us!! Thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flintstone
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.4 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
14.8 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
75 reviews
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Property: Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Address: 16701 Lakeview Rd NE, Flintstone, MD 21530-1059 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing