We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend for Kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at the Rocky Gap this past weekend as a get away with our soon to be four year old daughter. We were looking for a local resort with plenty of outdoor activities for a little girl. The Rocky Gap fit the bill. The resort is on the shores of a lake in Rocky Gap State Park in western Maryland. In addition to hiking, biking, swimming, fishing, geocaching, and many other on-site activities, the resort offers off-site activities through an outfitter. We chose horesback riding as our off site activity but there were many more to choose from. The resort also has a campfire and marshmallow roast every evening during the summer and scheduled activities every day of the week. The hotel would not confirm an early check in but they did have a room available when we arrived at noon. The rooms were clean and fairly modern, ours was a little small but other rooms in the resort are quite large.

This was our first visit as the resort is located within an hour of two world class resorts: Nemacolin Woodlands and the newly renovated historical Bedford Springs and we have traditionally stayed at those properties. However, art, architecture, and multi-course dinners aren't up my daughter's alley so we opted for a more family friendly resort. The Rocky Gap fills a needed niche by combining above average food and plentiful activities with a child friendly, casual atmosphere. There were many kids but the property is large enough that we didn't feel overrun. The main restaurant offered what I would consider above average but not gourmet dining. Dinner service was good, breakfast was a little slow but still acceptable.

Our only complaint was lunch (or should I say lack of it) at "Signatures" Bar and Grill. After waiting 45 minutes for chicken fingers and 2 salads we had to leave without eating to make our horseback appointment. The worst part was that when another guset complained about the service one of the workers replied "What do you expect me to do about it?" This was however an isolated incident and the remainder of the resort staff went out of their way to be helpful.

This was a great trip for a family with children. If you are looking for an adults only weekend I highly recommend Nemacolin or Bedford Springs but if kids are part of the equation you can't beat the Rocky Gap at less than 1/2 the price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jmhlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed here for the first time with husband for a week during peak season. During the week, no crowd concerns. During the weekend, the dining, especially breakfast, gets crowded. There arent many alternatives, unfortunately. We were not tended to well, had to get our own water, etc. I think our waitress forgot us on several occasions. Also ate at the pub that is onsite. Had similar experience at the pub, waiting almost an hour for food that was like fast food. All the other times, though, were were served promptly. And the staff was always nice. Overall food was okay. It was pricey, as are most things in the resort.

The indoor/outdoor pool is one pool and smaller than I expected. There is a hot tub. There is also an exercise room, which is pretty small too. I went to the spa 3 times, and had a good relaxing experience each time. The park allows for a lot of fun activities, and I think the resort would be great for families. They have nightly campfires where you can make smores. Also, you can rent paddleboats (go for the kayak!), kayaks and canoes, travel to C&O and go biking, hiking, etc. There is an aviary there, and it is nice to look close up into the eyes of owls. The golf course is in great condition. Its also worth the drive to go to Swallow Falls State park.

Nothing spectacular about the room. It would have been nice to have a fridge. The doors slam shut and are louder than their fire alarm (literally; we experienced both). However, I am a *very* light sleeper and with the room fan on high it didn't wake me. On the plus side, we were on the top floor (6) and never had to wait for the elevators; they are very fast.

Overall, a lot of stuff to do, all with a price tag, worth it if you get a good deal on the room (ours through travelzoo). I would recommend eating out on occasion. especially if coming for a romantic getaway. We liked Au Petit Paris and Oxford House, both quite pricey. We'll come back again, because it is a nice local escape.

My recs for the management/owners: it seems the staff (restaurant and housekeeping) are overworked/underpaid. Also, add mini-fridges to the rooms and quiet those doors!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GardenSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

This place is very comfortable it has a pretty good pool and a hottub. The staff was very helpful. Is kid friendly! The room is a huge size ! Since we stayed there during the end of december to New Years the rates were affordable also the hotel had a new Years party! I would recommend this to anybody if you want a comfortable but yet good stay!

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelReviews411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We stayed at Rocky Gap for a wedding. The room was large and clean. We were impressed with the reception and the Sunday brunch. I got a manicure at the spa and it was done well, but a little pricey compared to home (in the Baltimore area.) The food was excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlsatud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Bring kid repellant. Now, with that said, this place was actually okay. Not the most romantic of establishments if you are a young couple looking for a tranquil vacation in the woods. However, if you want to golf, kayak, and just hang out in the outdoors this place is okay. The food is actually pretty good at any of the restaurants and the bartenders are friendly. The service was good and the staff accommodated special requests without hesitation. The spa was a nice experience....but be punctual and book appointments in advance. It gets booked quickly. The massage was well worth it.
This place is very family friendly and affordable as far as meals on the premises are concerned. The trails leave much to be desired...but they're not terrible. The pool...is ...not so much...lots of kids..and..pretty small so don't come here expecting to lay out and work on that fantastic tan of yours.
Overall, we had a good time and it was a nice Memorial Day weekend away for a short trip. We got a great deal on the nightly room rate so for the price we really can't complain. We had no interest in golfing..if you're a golfer you may really enjoy the course. The grounds looked well kept.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liv101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

The Rocky Gap Resort offers simple three star accommodations. Although it is billed as a four star property, the rooms are small, cookie cutter and outdated but very clean. While not necessarily “run down” the rooms definitely could use some updates (i.e. – the bathrooms are small and the TV was obviously 10 years old). Also don’t expect all of the modern technology that usually comes with a four-star property (for example the in-room entertainment system is obviously 10 years old and lacks the bells and whistles of a modern property). Make sure you get a lakeside view. That is the hotel’s best feature. Overall if you can get a cheap rate, it is worth a visit or a weekend getaway. However the resort seems no longer worthy of its current (although outdated) four star billing.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravens4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

I stayed at the Rocky Gap Lodge recently for a business meeting. It probably wasn't the best time of year, but the view of the lake was still very nice.

The Lodge lobby is beautiful and very relaxing and the conference staff were excellent. I found the front desk staff to be extremely helpful and friendly.

I think this would be a great place to take a family for a weekend or to have a romantic getaway.

My only negative comments are that the restaurant staff were extraordinarily slow and inattentive (but the food was great) and housekeeping in the room could have been improved.

Otherwise this was a very nice facility, with great staff and a wonderful ambience.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stace2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flintstone
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.4 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
686 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
23.4 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
199 reviews
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Address: 16701 Lakeview Rd NE, Flintstone, MD 21530-1059 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range: $108 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing