We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Went in September so we didn't use the lake but sat by it in the evening which was so peaceful. Close to Cumberland so we also did the bike trail there. The rooms at hotel were very nice and the hotel is very clean. Our only disappointment was the seafood buffet which we did not think was very good for the price but overall the hotel was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcasey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

The mountains are so breathtaking and majestic. The lake is so beautiful. What a wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. A great getaway for the day or night. A great place to unwind. The casino has lots of action. The restaurants are wonderful with many choices. The staff are very nice and this resort is run very well. The rooms are very nice and clean and there is security to check the floors. I would definitely recommend you stay here for an evening of fun and relaxation.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are wonderful. Excuse the construction that is going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kps2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were treated with courtesy above what we experienced at other casino's.
The amenities in room were greatly appreciated. Quality of food for cost was excellent.
The atmosphere at other casino's were all so business like, the friendly experience was a seller to our group. Others of our group were equally impressed and stated they would also be returning.to Rock Gap.
Would like very much to play the golf course, perhaps the next visit.
Without a doubt, we will be making return visits to Rocky Gap

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeeship7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please do come back and play the golf course - you won't be disappointed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

wicasino is fun place service is excellant coffee pot and microwave was appreciatedforsmorningss staff is very friendly helped to give me directions on some shopping trips for the future visits to the gap

Room Tip: ocant wait to get backverlooking the lake and those corner suites are really very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

So glad you had a good time with us! Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Rocky Gap Resort exceeded all our expectations!!! We arrived at 2pm on Monday afternoon, our check-in was a breeze. Took the hike About 5 miles around the lake,very quiet and peaceful. had a great dinner at Lakeside Restaurant. Wonderful fun time at Casino that evening. Our room was quiet and bed comfortable. Staff was always visible and smiling....can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Lake view ......very lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Congratulations on completing the Lakeside Loop Trail! It is quite a hike, but gorgeous this time of year! Next time try biking it if you're up for a challenge. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We wanted to see some fall colors and play golf. Rocky Gap is close enough to us that we could have made it a day trip, but they offer a golf package that includes two rounds and an overnight stay from Sunday to Monday -- perfect for Columbus Day weekend. It was a bit soggy this weekend, but that did not take away from the beautiful views from the golf course, which was fantastic. The lodge is average, nothing extraordinary. The service was very friendly all around, from the registration desk to the wait staff. Room 414 faces the front and is close to the elevators, but the A/C unit kept us from hearing any noise from outside or from the hallway. The room was spacious, clean, and the king-sized bed was comfortable. This is not a foodie place -- very average fare. The resort offers several activities, including golf, biking, boating, and a 4.5 mile lakeside trail that is an easy hike. The lake beach was closed for the season, but the lodge has an indoor pool, which we did not visit. I recommend this place for a quick respite from Washington, DC life, a golf weekend, or an overnight stop on a long road trip. We are not gamblers and we did not care much for the casino. In my opinion, casinos cheapen a place, but whatever. We just ignored it. We hardly spent time in the lodge, since the big attraction for us were the golf and the beautiful outdoors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JojoRockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Rocky Gap. Thank your for highlighting the fact that Rocky Gap is so much more than a casino - it is a retreat that includes beautiful scenery, relaxation, and a wealth of outdoor activities! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The drive was scenic and very close to our home in Columbia, Maryland. We arrived a bit early about 2:30 and was told that our room would be ready at 3pm. We asked the hotel staff if they could recommend something for us to do in Cumberland and they told us to go to the visitor's center. We went to the visitor's center in Cumberland and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We came back to the hotel and was welcomed by a new group of hotel staff who were not friendly and barely acknowledged that you were standing in front of them. We had a Lakeview room which was nice however the T.V. channels are limited. We visited the restaurant for breakfast and the service was not good and the food average or less. It looks like they cater to gamblers and not families or couples who are looking for a quick getaway option unless you gamble. They need to ramp up customer service, offer other options than gambling and get someone in there with experience in showing excellent customer service if the desire is to become more than a casino. If its to be just a casino then they are heading in the right direction..

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flintstone
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.4 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
686 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
23.4 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
199 reviews
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Address: 16701 Lakeview Rd NE, Flintstone, MD 21530-1059 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range: $108 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing