We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots to do from morning to night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
378 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Lots to do from morning to night”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights here recently to play golf one day, sightsee in nearby Cumberland and enjoy playing blackjack at night. It's easy to find, just off the interstate.The hotel, on a smallish lake, looks beautiful when driving into the resort area. There was about a 10 minute line at check-in, and once we got to the desk, the clerk was very friendly and efficient. The spacious lobby is quite noisy because of a wide entrance into the casino area.

Our room, on the 4th floor, had a pretty view of the lake and was a good size, with attractive furniture and a big screen TV. A few negatives were intermittent Wifi; bottom sheet of the bed (which was otherwise comfy) wasn't tucked in - we did that the next morning since the maid didn't; hard, flat pillows; lamp by one bedside had nowhere to plug it in, so reading light was poor; lastly, limited cable channels available.

We enjoyed the casino - competent, friendly blackjack dealers, and enough $5 tables to be able to play pretty much whenever we wanted to. Slots do dominate the casino, but that's not our thing. Get the player's rewards card, even if you don't gamble, for extra perks, like the $3.99 early breakfast

Room Tip: Try to be at least on the 3rd floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at Rocky Gap Casino Resort! I will be happy to share your comments about your room with our Housekeeping Management & General Manager. We are continuing to improve our hotel and I am sure that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our amenities. I hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    433
    146
    61
    58
See reviews for
248
580
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was my second time visiting Rocky Gap. The stay is very peaceful and relaxing with the view of the lake. It's a smoke- free environment inside and that is just wonderful for me.I mainly come to play the slots, not interested in the other outside activities,but you still have to pay the fees.
Casino pay off has not been to friendly with me, maybe better luck next time. I do plan to return again it's a nice drive there, the mountains are beautiful!

Room Tip: Higher floors and Lake View
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlonthego027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The fee you pay is a Maryland State Park fee that is mandatory because the resort is on State Park ground. I do hope that you will visit us again and hope you fare better on the slots! Thanks for writing about your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was our first time at Rocky Gap and the place and views were beautiful even though they were undergoing renovations. The only problem was with the way the manager handled the one issue we had while there. He was apathetic and unhelpful, though the rest of the staff was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this casino/hotel resort and even won some money! It is a smoke-free environment inside the building and was quite refreshing. There is a beach on-site by Lake Habeeb (yes, I know, crazy name)...and a golf course as well. Very relaxing atmosphere with friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Assistant to Marketing at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Lake Habeeb is named after Edward Habeeb, a local businessman who helped initiate the development of Rocky Gap State Park. I hope you will visit us again soon! Thanks for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my first time at Rocky Gap. I was impressed with the view of the property by a lake as we entered the grounds. The stay was peaceful and the rooms were quite comfortable. Overall, I came for the casino but I would also go back just to stay at the hotel, take advantage of its spa activities, and enjoy the state park amenities.

Room Tip: Try to get a lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your exceptional experience with us! I hope you will visit us again soon and take advantage of our spa treatments and outdoor activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Loved the spa and all of the updating and renovations. It will be even better when construction is completed...but at least no noisy from that construction during our time there.Lovely view of the lake from our room and the restaurants. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Get a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013bjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you had a great time at our resort! The renovations will continue as we constantly strive to improve amenities for our guests! The construction in our backyard is for our new Event/Conference Center and will be completed in late fall.

Thank you again for writing about your stay with us! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Rocky Gap is beautiful. We canoed on the lake, sampled the beach, and used the indoor/outdoor pool. The pool has a nice setup, it starts indoors and flows outside. The "outside" is enclosed by a glass shelter with larged panelled ceilings that open.

We enjoyed the Signatures sports bar and our double queen room was very spacious. Lakeside Restaurant for dinner was "o.k." and I can't speak much to the Casino, because we only stopped briefly.

The one drawback for me was that I felt nickel and dimed a little bit. Also the room was a little pricey. But overall we enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubblesk633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Please keep in mind that our rates fluctuate with occupancy and time of year. Also, visit our website periodically or like us on Facebook to keep track of the special promotion we run - which will help you save on your room rate. I hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flintstone
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.4 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
22.6 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
14.8 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Property: Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Address: 16701 Lakeview Rd NE, Flintstone, MD 21530-1059 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing