We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort-very afordable-has everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I drove from Pittsburgh for a nights stay at Rocky Gap. We could of stayed at lady luck but the cost there was outrageous. Rocky Gap resort was very relaxing, room nicely appointed. Staff was wonderful and the casino was the perfect size with all the latest slots. She enjoyed the spa, while I enjoyed a cold beer looking at the lake. Food was average price very good. Overall very pleased.

Room Tip: Lake side, beautiful view. Ask for room away from pool, the roof obstructs your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattyPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I'll preface this review by stating that we did NOT spend the night at this resort and this review is based off of primarily our casino and spa experience.

As frequent visitors to Las Vegas, my wife and I decided to take a day trip to Rocky Gap Resort since it is only an hour and a half away from where we live.

We were pleased with the complimentary valet service, the staff out there does a great job. Upon entering the resort, we found the signage very lacking in helping us figure out where the spa was. A resort employee kindly gave us directions to the spa.

My wife reports that the spa was mediocre at best. There is no locker area to change in nor a shower available to use after the spa services.The massage she received was just ok and her pedicure (hot stone) was "good".

While my wife was in the spa, I hit up the casino. Again, I'll preface this by saying that I am a "seasoned" casino guest visiting casinos all over the U.S.A.

Casino staff were very friendly and there was a good energy in the casino. The floor is a bit small, but lots of strategically placed mirrors made the room feel a lot larger than it really is. I only play roulette and was disappointed to see only one roulette table on the floor. Table minimum was $5.00, which is nice to see (I was playing at minimum, $20.00 per spin). Stacey (the roulette dealer) was definitely new at her craft. but was very friendly and had a good attitude.

Play was VERY SLOW at the tables due to the manual sorting/distribution of chips and the relative "green" status of all dealers. With a table as full and busy as ours, I am very surprised the floor supervisor did not instruct another dealer to join our table to help.

After playing for 1.5 hours, the floor supervisor came over to inform our table that the minimum would be raised to $10.00 after 30 minutes and everyone at the table would be subject to the increase. Now, even though I was already playing $20, I have a huge problem with this. Every other casino (I've been to) on the face of the earth would grandfather the current players in at the lower minimum.

The floor supervisor then was instructing players at the table to move to "assigned" places so she could squeeze 2 more people in at the table who wanted to play. By "assigned" places, she meant getting UNCOMFORTABLY CLOSE to other players in order to "squeeze" in 2 more people who wanted to play. We were literally shoulder to shoulder. By the time all was said and done, we had 12 people at our table throwing elbows to place a bet. After this ridiculousness, I colored out and left the table.

Lots of potential here, but other than the proximity to my home, not a whole lot to make me want to come back. I was having a "decent" time until the idiotic floor supervisor decided to treat our table like a ringling brothers clown car.

Room Tip: avoid rooms close to construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
4  Thank LetsGetCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

They tell you to use the room safe for valuables however it was misting and cloudy no need for sunglasses. Returning to our room 2 hours later we discovered that my Maui Jim $250 sunglasses were no longer on the dresser. We reported them missing to Security. A day later they came up with a totally ridiculous report. The time we used our key card to enter the room was 1 hour before we actually returned. The time they gave the room was entered for cleaning was 1 hour after we returned to the obviously cleaned room. Never heard from them again. Apparently the staff there is working a little side job.
We will not return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeggyAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent four days at Rocky Gap. My wife really liked the spa, the spa facilities, their personnel, and the treatments. She had seven treatments and was extremely pleased and says they were well worth the price. I spent most of my time and energy in the Casino. It is smaller than the other nearby casinos, but the selection of machines is good and the pay-out seems better than the others. And the casino promotions were very generous (like the "Stay and Play" Mondays and Tuesdays which gave $149 free slot play for each Monday and Tuesday you stay at the hotel). The restaurants and bars are kind of small, but that makes them more personal and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed the quiet, relaxing atmosphere at Rocky Gap Resort for many years. We enjoyed the golf course and the lake, and the theme of good health, recreation, and nature. Enter the casino. Our most recent experience was diminished by the construction equipment for the new conference center by the lake (we weren't told about this when registering), the focus on feeling "lucky" for gambling, and the crowds (good for the bottom line).

There were few "healthy" choices for meals, and the service was slow.

Very disappointing experience. The golf was still good, but the resort was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms on higher floors (4 and up) would be better if not for the active construction site o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 682Tom682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Would definitely visit again in the future. The rooms are very nicely decorated. The property is well kept and very clean. There is a nice selection of dining available. The casino had my wife's favorite machine which made her very happy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traclynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a place to go for some serious R&R ..Golf ,fishing (bring your own bait) ,casino, pool, boating, and good food. Then there are the views, breath taking. The property is very well kept, even in a remodeling phase. Was very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Lake view is the way to go..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUTDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flintstone
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.4 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
666 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
238 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Address: 16701 Lakeview Rd NE, Flintstone, MD 21530-1059 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range: $110 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing