We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$80
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$61
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,304)
Filter reviews
1,304 results
Traveler rating
527
463
170
74
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
527
463
170
74
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parklake viewslot machinesboat rentalsoutdoor activitiesbreakfast buffetbar and grillspa serviceswestern marylandpro shopfree slot playnice weekendcrab cakesrocky gap casinonon smokingindoor poolcoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,013 - 1,018 of 1,304 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We made a last minute decision to get away for a night July 3rd. Was lucky enough to get the last Lakeside room at Rocky Gap. We were never there before and found it to be a very quiet location, no highway or city noises, etc. The staff in the hotel, restaurants and casino are all very accommodating and friendly. The valet parking is free. The food at Signatures was very good but I would suggest that they add some other food items for vegetarians.

The casino is very nice (all non-smoking) but it was also very cold in there. Overall, I enjoyed it there and do intend to go back.

Room Tip: I would request a Lakeview room because the scenery is very nice compared to looking at a golf course.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

First time to Rocky Gap resort, and were pleasantly surprised at the outdoor beauty and cozy atmosphere inside. Nice room and very friendly staff. We enjoyed relaxing by the lake, playing in the casino and reasonably priced restaurants. Would absolutely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent three days at Rocky Gap Resort as part of a group vacation. Several families with teen kids. Everybody really had a great time. The teenagers had lots to do and they could do most on their own. Rooms are large and simple. They also have refrigerators which do not have complicated locks and are not pre stocked as a mini bar. We put water and wine in and had cold beverages for our time there.

The beach is in the state park, a short 100 meter walk from the resort. It is very small, but nice. It should probably be doubled in size at least.

The hotel is mission out on not capitalizing on the beautiful lake view, however, they have plenty of Adirondak chairs available on the grass to sit by the lake. They also do not mind if you bring your own wind down to the lake to enjoy the sunset or evenings.

There are a variety of restaurants. They all fit a need and were very convenient. The fine dining restaurant is really geared toward shifting you to the buffet, however, the buffet was very good the times we tried it for breakfast and dinner.

Free wifi throughout the resort. that was nice and convenient. I was able to stream NETFLIX one evening.

My only real complaint is that there are great areas for campfires and smores making and things on the resort property, however, those options are no longer offered though the staff really did not know why. The resort just does not maximize its lakefront value.

Room was comfortable. Very 90's appointed. Shower head needed to desperately be replaced, but all in all for a family trip the room was nice. Oh, if you are a bedding person, the pillows are some of the worst I have ever experienced, again, not the hotels focus. But the rooms were clean and cleaned regularly during our stay. We also got extra towels with no problems.

I would return with a group or with my wife in the fall. I would like to make the hike all the way around the lake next time I visit.

This place has fantastic potential and simply needs to figure out what it wants to be. We did not even enter the casino and did not find that the casino clientel impacted us in any way. In order to gamble you needed to establish an account which was just one step too far for us on this family vacation.

We did not try the spa which we had originally been planning on. My wife just was not wowed when she entered the spa room which appeared to be a manicure/pedicure salon.

Room Tip: Right now, choose the golf course view. there is construction lakeside and you want to avoid that noise.
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Paolo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We used to come to Rocky Gap before the hotel, casino and golf course were built. This was our first time here since the big changes.

The room was very nice - clean and comfortable.
The food from the menu at the restaurant was good, the food from the breakfast buffet - not so good.
The casino was nice, the dealers and wait staff were very friendly - just wish slots paid off a little more ...

Now for the bad ...
The front desk person that checked my wife and I in was less than friendly - no eye contact, no smile, etc. - a front desk robot. She didn't provide information about the resort.

Overall - a good experience. We will definitely be back to see it the resort get even better.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dzak64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lake view Hotel was clean and efficient. More chances to win at the 24 hour casino since its newer. Definitely use the valet, it's free but leave a good tip. The lake side buffet varies each day from Asian, Italian, Mexican, and prime rib on fri & weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funfamily99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews