We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Before it Changes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a wonderful gem in a state park filled with natural beauty and a sky full of stars. We spent several days here for a fall mini break and it was delightful. The place is nicely nestled in between a beautiful Jack Nicklaus golf course and Lake Habeeb. Staff was wonderful, especially the fire tender at the nightly "campfires" where we enjoyed good fellowship, a nice cigar, and a well made drink from the Signatures bar. The people were friendly and helpful and the facility was clean with a cozy feeling despite its size and the presence of conferences. Restaurant had a great breakfast with a beautiful view of the lake. We ordered off the menu rather than the buffet. The spa was a great treat for my wife while I got to enjoy the beauty and challenge of the first rate golf course.

Our only glitch was the room which was handicapped accessible. Not a great choice for tall people and it had no counter in the bath. When I shared this with the front desk, they immediately found a table and put it in the bathroom for us. Very responsive service.

Future plans call for a change to a casino. That will probably eliminate the conference center and definitely change the crowd. What a shame to compromise the natural beauty of the area with a trashy gambling house. It just won't have the same feel. Plenty to do in the area from train rides to hiking to Segways in the the woods. Get there now before it's too late.

Room Tip: Parking is a bit tricky finding a spot close to the entrance. Try the lower lot. Get a room close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2600marinaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The scenery can't be beat whether you chose the lake or the golf course view. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food is delicious. They have a sports grill for casual fare and a Grand Dining room for formal dining. They also have a cocktail lounge. The all you can eat buffet breakfast had all the usual offerings. They also had a breakfast menu if you prefer something specific.The rooms were large and well appointed with comfortable beds, thick warm comforters and flat panel TV with cable. This place has it all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here this past weekend. Great Value. Great Location when traveling on I-68. Beautiful views of the lake and state park in the fall. We had breakfast in the Lakeside Restaurant and it was very good!

Biggest Complaint= Paper-thin walls. Our neighbors were extremely loud and had a small child. Needless to say, we didn't need an alarm clock.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bentleyj111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

First, because this is essentially a resort, and there is nothing else nearby, I'll be reviewing everything, not just the hotel room, because it's really all a part of it and can't be separated.

The price was super cheap when we went at least. While the hotel room was nothing amazing, it was definitely clean and passable, although it looked like it had only been lightly updated since it's construction in the mid 90s. The area around the hotel was very nice and if you like hiking and nature, it's very well done. The Aviary in particular was very cool, and there are some great overlooks on the trails. They have a bonfire at night, which was cozy (but very dark!) and while I didn't use the pool, it looked decent as well.

The main downside is the primary restaurant. I had a dinner and a breakfast there, and I must say both times felt very overpriced and the food was underwhelming. The service was also terrible. We went to the bar right next to the restaurant, and the service there was terrible as well. I recommend you go to the Sports bar that is attached to the pro shop. The service was MUCH better there, and the food was more reasonably priced as well. The liquor at this resort is unbelievably cheap though! $2.50 for craft beer? $7 for a Grey Goose cocktail? What decade is this!

All in all this is a decent, reasonably priced getaway (as long as you don't eat in the primary dining hall), seems like a great place for kids or an even better place to get in a weekend of golf and cheap drinks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ry0ohki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

To begin, Rocky Gap State Park, with the mountains, the fall colors, the lake, and even the golf course, is beautiful. The lodge/resort, however, is a different story. The service was rude and unresponsive. Our room clearly had not been updated since the hotel's original construction. The carpet was worn and dirty; we chose not to open the blinds because the windows were so filthy; there were bugs all over the room, not to mention trash from the room's previous occupant, the tv was the size of my computer monitor; and I've seen better bathrooms at the Motel 6. We had a billing issue between the spa and the front desk where we were billed twice for the same service. After being sent on a wild goose chase (apparently, the front desk didn't realize that a telephone could be used to contact people in another part of the hotel), they finally told us they'd take care of it and call to let us know that the issue had been resolved. We never received a call, so we checked things out several hours later - "Oh, we didn't take care of that, and the people who can aren't here anymore." We should have known that service was going to be an issue even before arriving, as just booking our 'romantic' package was a hassle: none of the call attendants seemed to know what was even available at the hotel; they told us they could not book a king-sized bedroom even though these rooms are available; the same person was not able to book the spa service and the room even though it was advertised as a package deal; and the attendant transferred our call to several offices in the hotel that they already knew were closed at the time. Maybe my expectations are too high, but this 4-Diamond rated establishment was far below a standard set by other resorts I've been to with the same rating. It did, however, match up nicely with what I've come to expect from 1 to 2-diamond rated hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed one night and played golf while we were there. The golf course is well maintained and the views are outstanding! Our room was ok but no better than the room we had at the Lavale Comfort Inn. We had a view of the golf course which was not nice but our friends said the view of the lake was beautiful. The service at the front desk was good but I can not say the same for the restaurant. We arrived for dinner 45 minutes before closing but they had already run out of food in the buffet. They told us the kitchen was getting ready to close so we decided to eat in the lounge where they were serving food for another hour or 2 that was coming out of the same kitchen, didn't make sense to us. I had been asking for a month about the special golf membership that is mentioned on their website and was told 3 different times they had not decided if they were going to offer it this year, why have it on their website then? I have seen other promotions on their website that is not available when I have called, how long does it take to update the website? The view of the lake from the dining room dring breakfast was breathtaking!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I almost didn't go to Rock Gap because of the negative reviews. But we went instead based on one great review, and had an amazing 20th Anniversary there.
Our room was nice and big, the bed was comfy with double sheeted blankets, and it was clean. The pillows were not the best, but that's okay since I always bring my own.
We walked down to the beach and renewed our vows. It was a picturesque and private location for us. The mountain behind us was just bursting with color.
after that we took a segway tour. Scott, our guide, was great. We were scared to get on the segway for the first time, but after a short video and 10 minutes if him getting us acquainted with the segway, we felt like pros. Riding up through the trails was so beautiful and fun. What a great activity to do for our 20th Anniversary. Although we could have rented one of the boats and pushed off into the big lake like some other couples had done.

When I made the reservation online I added 2 things to the package: Breakfast for 2, and 2 massages. When we went to the Spa to reserved time for the massages they only had one opening. So I highly recommend you not book beforehand unless you call them and reserve your spa treatment ahead of time. It didn't cost any less to buy it as a package when I made the reservation, and the breakfast ended up costing us more because we bought it ahead of time.

We decided against eating our anniversary dinner at their restaurant based on reviews that it was overpriced and mediocre. Aren't most hotel restaurants? But our guide, Scott, and the front desk manager, Sara, both recommended Restaurante Ottaviani's in Cumberland. So we made a reservation and went there. Boy were they right! That was an amazing dining experience!

There was a bonfire from 7p-10p that was fabulous. We slept well since it was nice a quiet in the room. The hotel seemed to be full as there was a conference going on. But because the design is a long rectangle, we felt it was quite private and didn't see many people.

The next day we went on a hike around the lake. There are about 6 different trails from beginner to advanced. What a great place to be outside and enjoy the outdoors. People were jogging, and hiking, and riding the rental bikes, fishing, and canoeing. How great!

The unfortunate thing is that they are turning Rock Gap Resort into a casino (where the conference center is now). So renovations will take place a few months from now. So if you like to enjoy a family friendly resort, with lots of outdoor activities, get there asap!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomofDrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flintstone
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.4 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
686 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
241 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Address: 16701 Lakeview Rd NE, Flintstone, MD 21530-1059 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range: $109 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing