We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Out and Play”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our family stayed at Rocky Gap Lodge over Memorial Day weekend. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the activities for kids. The setting is gorgeous. Anyone who enjoys nature will be in heaven here. We brought our bikes and enjoyed the trails around Lake Habeeb. There's an aviary within walking distance that has an American Eagle and several owls that the park ranger brings out to meet people. While the pool is on the small side, our kids loved it. We enjoyed the jacuzzi too. The staff that runs the activities is super nice and helpful. Our kids went kayaking, played laser tag, made tie dye t-shirts and made s'mores at the campfire. We also had massages at the spa. The massage itself was excellent-- a very pleasant surprise. It's not a place to hang out, just get your service and go. The room is nice and comfortable, though we were wish that there was a closet instead of the armoire. We ate at the resort. The breakfast buffet is terrific (and we don't normally like buffets). We ate lunch outside at the casual restaurant by the pool. The food is OK but reasonably priced and very kid-friendly. The drink specials are tremendous... $4 frozen margaritas on a hot afternoon! In summary, this was a great place for a family vacation. It's not the Ritz, but you'll be glad when you get your bill.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpiderFan1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
There are newer reviews for Rocky Gap Casino Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2011

We just came back from the Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort. We went a family of four, with kids 9 and 5. We had a great time. The scenery is absoluterly beautiful.

We went to the Cumberland old railway station for a bike ride. There's a very nice and easy bike trail starting there (and as long as you can handle). You can rent bikes at the resort but if you plan to do serious biking take yours with you. For a family of four $10 per hour per bike would have been a lot plus without the rack you would be stuck near the lake where there's no bike trail. for a family.

We went hiking round the lake, about 5 miles very accessible, great!

In the reception area you can find the guys that help you with renting boats, hikes, bike rides, horse-rides and other adventures. These people are awesome. They are the ones who let us know where to find a bike trail good for a family with kids and even printed out driving directions. On the next day, after a bad experience with the hotel at breakfast, they helped find a place to have breakfast, which was very good, and again printed out directions. By the way the place is Bob Evans and the food there is amazing.

Now, to the hotel. Have the expectations of a hotel and you will be happy with the rooms. We liked our room and we got a good deal for it on the internet. It was on the 6th floor with lake view. The free wireless was great and easy to access. The staff is not great but unless there's a problem you need to solve you'll be fine. Our bad experience was this morning, Mother's Day, when they closed breakfast at 10 instead of 11. Of course, we had no idea. The "manager" in the dining told us that we got notification when we arrived (which we didn't) . Indeed, only 5 minutes before we had checked out and asked the receptionist if it'd be OK to have breakfast after check out and she'd said yes. The "manager' was not helpful at all. He said they had to close because they'd start serving brunch at 11:30. We were willing to wait for another half hour and have brunch instead but he said they were fully booked. So, here we are, a family of four with 2 hungry kids and an unhelpful manager who had NO suggestions as to what we could do.

We remembered the only helpful people were the guys organizing adventures and true to expectations they helped us even though our problem had nothing to do with what they were here for.

Bottom line: the place is great. I would not miss it because of the hotel staff and you don't have a better choice there. Just be prepared and make no assumptions.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorExecAsstKati, Public Relations Manager at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Please allow me to begin, with a sincere apology for your recent experience at our resort. Our goal and mission is to always exceed your expectations, and to assure that upon your departure, you take with you a positive and memorable experience. We regret, that we have not met this goal, and for that we sincerely apologize.

Your comments and feedback are greatly welcomed, and have been shared with our lead management team. We do include the information on all reader boards if our normal hours of operation are changed, however; we obviously need to tighten the gap and broaden our communication to our valued guests. Indeed we could have offered Room Service until 11:00am as an alternative or Signatures Bar & Grill that opens at 11:00am. While the buffet was sold out at that time we should have made a sincere effort to accommodate you and your family. Please be assured that your unfortunate experience will be used as a training tool to further our continued commitment to provide exceptional quality service.

We hope that you will return in the near future, so that we may show you our true Four Diamond standard. Again, please accept my personal apology on behalf of the Food & Beverage Service Team.

Brian Kurtz, Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This hotel is a heavenly experience. From the moment I contacted the hotel about reservations till my checkout, the staff has been incredible and courteous. This is my 3rs stay at Rocky Gap. I can truly say that each visit I have experienced a variety of memorable experiences which make this property truly my "home away from home".

It is pricey, but I have always been able to capture a special rate and/or package which brings the cost more in-line with my expenses. The view of the lake and mountains in this region is priceless.

This trip was business, but I actually had time to pursue first-time activities arrange thru the www.wmdadventures.com concierge desk at the lodge(Skeet shooting & paintball). The variety of activities which the lodge either provides or arranges is incredibe.

When here ~ Get outside & play!

My stay---incredible!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorExecAsstKati, Public Relations Manager at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Nubear,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We aim to make everyone's stay here at Rocky Gap Lodge a "heavenly" experience. It's great to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of our unique activities. Spending time outdoors around Lake Habeeb really tops off any trip to our Resort.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope that you'll be back to visit again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Beautiful surroundings - Friendly & professional staff- Good food in Lakeside restaurant-
2 complaints : terrible quality of pillows (bring your own for a good night's sleep ) & no Business Center even though this hotel hosts conferences. Bring your own laptop if you need internet access.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjcd1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

From the minute we arrived, the staff were polite and had our reservation and bonus promotion information ready at check-in. Our room was nicely decorated, flat screen TV and we had a view of the lake. Beds were very comfortable - not too hard or too soft.
We spent several hours walking around the lake on trails that were not too difficult. Also drove a few miles away to visit the Cumberland Train station and C&O Canel and walked around town.
I had a wonderful facial treatment and chocolate pedicure, which included chocolate covered strawberries - what a treat!!
Even though it was prime summer, it didn't seem very crowded, as the resort is located in a State Park, and the weather was very nice - not too hot for hiking. Did not try out the swimming pool, but it is indoors and the lake has a beach for swimming nearby.
Food was good - had burgers at the Bar and tried the Breakfast Buffet one morning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwenviro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

The food here consisted of their winter menu. Two sandwiches and store bought pizza that I am fairly certain is going to make me sick later. No one smiles here! I am not happy and we just got here!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesstunella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Rocky Gap Lodge and Resort for 2 nights in late October 2010. It was a very easy drive from the Washington DC area and the resort is easily accessible from the highway. The hotel itself is nice, but really nothing special. The rooms are fine, the food is fine, the service is good. But there really isn't anything spectacular about the hotel, except for the incredible, picturesque views of the fall foliage. Our room was a lake view and we enjoyed that very much. My husband and I both has massages and they were both very good. I did not go in the pool, but it looked very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjb11711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flintstone
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.4 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
644 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
231 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Address: 16701 Lakeview Rd NE, Flintstone, MD 21530-1059 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range: $113 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing