We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definition of peaceful retreat!”
Review of Smith Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smith Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Ewell B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definition of peaceful retreat!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I can only emphasize the points made in the review by someonesomehwere15 - it is all true! We not only enjoyed being brought into the fold of the life of the islanders for the two days we were there to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, but in addition were inspired and motivated by the boundless energy and creativity of the owners Michelle and Nathan. They have absolutely done it right, as they brought their original island home back to life. Wifi is there in the home for you, but if you're smart, you'll turn everything off, and go breathe the air in the bay as you kayak, canoe, and bike. There is really not much there in the form of big city entertainment, just you, the bay, and the company of friendly, hardy folks that keep precious places like this alive. I ate as much soft shell crab as I could, and at Ruke's, it was truly delicious - my mouth is watering just thinking about it! Michelle and Nathan were the perfect hosts, my husband were very well cared for! As stated in another review, be mindful of the islander's preference to consume alcohol inconspicuously. The warmth of the people was refreshing, particularly at times when, for example, the island minister would join us for breakfast and a friendly chat! The only suggestion I might make - real maple syrup for breakfast - and that's it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaV99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytriper_12, Owner at Smith Island Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for spending your special anniversary with us! We are glad you included us in this celebration! The Islanders are truly the nicest and most genuine folks you'll ever meet and I am glad you felt welcomed during your weekend! We are regulars at Ruke's ourselves and glad you enjoyed the crab there! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and look forward to seeing you back again..... Michele Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
annapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Davidson's Inn (Smith Island Inn) and it was as wonderful as could be hoped for. My fiancé and I got engaged during the trip and I can't say enough how great everything went, in large part to the unsolicited efforts of Michelle Davidson, her husband and children. The Davidsons, as well as the entire town, were extremely accommodating and beyond pleasant. They went well out of their way to make sure the trip went as well as possible. From the travel arrangements to the added touches and surprises the Davidsons went above and beyond. The Inn itself was comfortable and had everything one would need for a relaxing trip on the Chesapeake. We can't wait to go back as newlyweds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytriper_12, Owner at Smith Island Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks Alec & Kristi! I think we had as much fun during your engagement trip as you did! Thank you for your kind words! You remain one of our most memorable guests! Our daughters are hoping you'll get married on the Island. We still get questions from Islanders inquiring if you've tied the knot! Hope you'll be returning next year with your new titles as Mr. & Mrs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just had such a fun Labor Day weekend staying at the Smith Island Inn.
Smith Island is fascinating and it's great to explore it and with hosts like Michele and Nathan Davidson, their great kids and Innkeeper John.. you just get so much more out of the experience!
Accommodations are comfortable, charming and a kayak and a canoe and bikes are provided. Dinner brought to the house if requested. John can give you a tour/history talk of the island if you wish. In any case, you would miss a lot if you don't get to have a conversation with them about life on the island, it's so fascinating, and so close and yet so different from our mainland lives.
If you need wine/beer, bring it but drink discreetly, the island is dry. We also brought snacks from Chrisfield with us for lunch for kayaking-- the kayaking iis REALLY good. There is a map of the island with kayak-canoe trails to follow thru the 'guts'. You could get lost!
Bring plenty of stuff to read but there is good WiFi in the house and some interesting books about the islands and the bay.

The islanders are super friendly. This is NOT a high end expensive commercial or over-touristed place, it's a working island for the most part, though living off the fishing, crabbing etc is becoming more challenging. It's totally amazing that this all exists so close to metropolitan eastern US and yet is so different.
The Smith Island Inn is a very recently restored charming historic house, comfortable and very centrally located on a pretty lane, and close to where you put the kayak in the water, close to the 2 restaurants, close to the museum (VERY worth a visit) and close to many pomegranate trees that were bearing huge fruit in people's yards! .
Their website says it all: come as a stranger, leave as a friend. We most certainly feel we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank someonesomewhere15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytriper_12, Owner at Smith Island Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks guys! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We love to hear guests enjoy their journey back in time and emerge themselves in the quietness and simplicity that we feel is hard to find in modern times! Glad you enjoyed kayaking, biking, and the catering! We love hearing folks enjoyed their stay and when folks feel they left as friends, even better! Hope you come and see us again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewell
13.8 mi away
Kingsbay Mansion
Kingsbay Mansion
#1 of 1 in Marion Station
7 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#2 of 5 in Reedville
30 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
The Inn at Onancock
The Inn at Onancock
#1 of 6 in Onancock
216 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Washington Inn and Tavern
The Washington Inn and Tavern
#1 of 4 in Princess Anne
34 reviews
23.2 mi away
Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smith Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smith Island Inn

Property: Smith Island Inn
Address: 20947 Caleb Jones Rd, Ewell, MD 21824-9714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ewell
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ewell
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint charming fully restored bed and breakfast on historical Smith Island featuring all private rooms with full baths. The only bed and breakfast with true en suite baths! Family-friendly accepting children of all ages. Enjoy our homemade breakfasts, use of bicycles, canoes, kayaks while being spoiled in the peace and tranquility of a working watermen's island. Enjoy a slower pace and a step back in time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing