We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

““Horrible Hospitality” My Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emmitsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
““Horrible Hospitality” My Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Hello I would like to say in the below post the person writing this is giving misleading information. I was staying on the third floor with my boyfriend on a skiing trip the night this took place and I called the front desk about this room being loud playing music we could actually hear the words to over in our room in the middle of the night. Then about 30 minutes later I went to the front desk in the middle of the night have you ! And this is taking place at 2am by the way. To tell the front desk clerk this room still had people coming in and out being loud while slamming their door over and over. While I was there he was on the phone with a other guest complaining about the same problem.


We are happy they were removed because if not we might not have had any sleep for our day of skiing which would have resulted in a wasted trip. A hotel you pay a 130.00 dollars a night for should not have problems from other inconsiderate guest turning their room into a frat house ! Because of the front desk clerk taking action we will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    65
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
31
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Having stayed at the Sleep Inn several times, I was expecting a pleasant weekend with no issues at the hotel. I was utterly disappointed with the lack of hospitable management at this hotel. My group of friends was in town for a reunion and when we had returned from a night out, we were laughing and catching up. We did receive one complaint regarding our noise, at which point we lowered our voices and tried to wind down for the night. Soon after, we received a knock at our door with three police officers, kicking us out of the hotel.

Typically, you would expect hotel management to give you a warning such as "next time we get a complaint, you will be asked to leave" but we never got such a warning. Instead, we were blindsided at 3 AM in the morning and forced to get into cars and drive to another hotel. Thankfully some of our friends had arrived late that night and were able to drive safely to another hotel. Had that not been the case, we would have had no way of safely leaving this hotel.

I understand and agree that noise that bothers other guests should be taken seriously by management. I even admit that yes, we had gotten carried away in the excitement of reuniting with old friends. However, the respectful and lawful treatment of your guests should also be taken seriously. We were treated with utter disrespect and given no solid reason by management for our forced removal from this hotel. Additionally, it was unacceptable and absolutely unnecessary to waste the time of police officers in this situation. As a hotel manager, you should be able to properly handle situations of your guests, including insisting that they quiet down.

I suggest in the future you have your team revisit Hospitality 101. Do not waste the time of the police to quiet down a bunch of harmless young professionals who are not a menace to society in any way, shape, or form. Give your paying guests the opportunity to quiet down or at least provide a warning that the next consequence is being kicked out.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CL20122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I have stayed a couple of times in this hotel. The rooms are clean and modern. The staff is friendly and it is very convenient to other Emmitsburg attractions and the highway. The two drawbacks, the rooms are small and the breakfast just OK. But the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiveStarPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhonkson, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stopped at this hotel while driving home from Myrtle Beach,SC in late September. We were exhausted and just needed a place to sleep. This was far better than expected for the price we paid. The room was spacious, modern and most importantly clean. A nice surprise!
We did not use any of the facilities but did take a look at what the property had to offer...everything looked just as promising as our room. No complaints and would absolutely consider it in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyssaO1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here while visiting the area and had reserved a King Bed room weeks in advance. We arrived very tired from traveling and sightseeing and the front desk clerk tells my wife and I that he had no kings ready for at least another half hour. He told us either to wait or take a room with two doubles. We took the two doubles. The lights were very dim
in the sink and mirror area, the vent didn't work in the bathroom and there was a rip in the wallpaper by the closet. The hotel could use an update, including access from the side of the hotel with a room key. We would stay here again in the future if the need arises.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldWoody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here as a more cost effective option for a last minute trip to Gettysburg and it was a good choice. It was about 11 minutes (10 miles) from the Gettysburg Visitor's Center. It was not congested or touristy like the hotels in Gettysburg.

It is a Sleep Inn, which is not a fancy hotel. For the money, the hotel was awesome. The rooms were very clean and were not outdated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There was a continental breakfast, which was great, since it was free. There is a small pool and workout room. Parking was plentiful and well-light.

We stayed on the first floor which is at the level of the parking lot and did not have any trouble sleeping.

There was minor construction overnight. We heard nothing and only knew about it because we checked in late.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinacaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stopped here, driving back to Virginia from Lancaster. We did alot that day, and were tired so we'll looked up the closest hotel to where we were on the road. Found this place in this small college town in Maryland.
We had never stayed in a Sleep inn, so we were a little apprehensive. But, upon arrival we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is tucked away on a back road, a little hard to find even though it's right off of US-15. We arrived late, about 8pm. So we didn't use the indoor pool or the business center. We checked in to our King room, and found it was rather well appointed for the price. Decent TV, very fast wireless internet, good size fridge, pretty comfy bed. The only negative in the room itself was that the bathroom :"door" was a sliding kind, that was hard to open and close.
Upon waking the next day, we had requested and received a late checkout at noon. However,at about 11am, there was a knock at the door. The housekeeper had decided to ignore the "do not disturb" sign. I told her to come back later, as we had a late checkout. She either didn't understand me or didn't care, and then tried to open the door, and despite the dead bolt beings turned, she was able to open the door, a little. I had to forcibly push the door closed, as we were not dressed. I had to yell at her to go way, before she finally did.
Other than that, one bad experience we had a otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjuva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emmitsburg
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
12.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
22.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
10.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 28 in Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
Address: 501 Silo Hill Pkwy, Emmitsburg, MD 21727-9197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Emmitsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emmitsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites Emmitsburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg Hotel Emmitsburg
Sleep Inn Emmitsburg
Emmitsburg Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Hotel Emmitsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing